India ARRC: West claims Supersport win

Former MotoGP rider Anthony West emerged on top in a thrilling battle with Honda Racing India's Taiga Honda to win the first Supersport race in the India round of Asia Road Racing Championship.

India ARRC: West claims Supersport win

Polesitter West was slow off the line when the 16-lap race got underway at the Madras Motor Race Track in Chennai, with Hada making a rocketing getaway to surge into the lead.

West, after dropping as low as fifth, then got embroiled in a battle with Hada for the lead of the race, the duo trading positions for the next 10 laps.

On the 11th tour, West found his way past Hada in the first sector and immediately began pulling away to prevent the Japanese rider from putting on a counter challenge.

He eventually went on to claim a 0.325s victory and with that result maintained his unbeaten record in India. The Australian won both Indian races in 2016 at the Buddh International Circuit and was absent from last year’s event in Chennai.

Meanwhile, Hada later slipped to third behind Zaqhwan Zaidi, who made a last-gasp attempt at beating West to the line but was eventually forced to settle for the runner-up spot.

Danica continues Asia Production 250cc winning run

Rheza Danica scored his fifth victory of the 2018 ARRC season in the Asia Production 250cc category after prevailing in a two-horse fight with Astra Honda teammate Mario Suryo.

The race lead changed several times until Danica moved to the front of the field on lap 3, with Suryo following him behind in second position.

The two breezed clear of the rest of the field and got indulged in a fight of their own, with Suryo taking the lead in what appeared to be decisive move at the start of lap 9.

However, Danica managed to repass Suryo heading into the chicane on the final lap to win the race and extend his lead in the riders’ championship.

Behind the leading duo, Rey Ratukore finished third astride a Yamaha bike, while India's Rajiv Sethu bagged points with a respectable 13th place result.

From the editor, also read:

Meanwhile, the Underbone 150cc honours went to Falzi Ahmad, who beat countryman Helmi Azman by just 0.255s in an incident-packed race. Peerapong Luiboonpeng completed the podium spots.

India ARRC: Sethu scores points, Hada on podium for Honda India
Previous article

India ARRC: Sethu scores points, Hada on podium for Honda India

Next article

India ARRC: Honda India on podium again, Sethu misses points

India ARRC: Honda India on podium again, Sethu misses points
Load comments