Formula 1
Emilia Romagna GP
18 Apr
Race in
47 days
Formula E
Rome ePrix
10 Apr
Next event in
38 days
28 Mar
FP1 in
24 days
Doha GP
02 Apr
Next event in
30 days
16 Apr
Next event in
44 days
23 Apr
Next event in
51 days

Brands Hatch BF3: Leist secures Race 1 win amid last-lap drama

Polesitter Matheus Leist fended off Carlin’s Ricky Collard to take victory in the opening race of the second round of British Formula 3 Championship at Brands Hatch.

Brands Hatch BF3: Leist secures Race 1 win amid last-lap drama

Although Leist appeared to have control over the proceedings, Collard often closed within half a second of the Brazilian, only for the Double R driver to further increase his advantage by going quicker.

The duo were separated by 1.7 seconds at the chequered flag after Leist picked up the pace during the last two laps of the race.

Behind, Toby Sowery took the final spot on the podium in the leading Lanan entry, having passed Raoul Hyman on the opening lap.

There was drama on the final lap as Hyman and Sisa Ngebulana went off at the Surtees corner, dropping to seventh and 12th places respectively.

The incident promoted Douglas’ Thomas Randle and the Fortec of Tarun Reddy to fourth and fifth positions respectively.

The duo had already gained multiple positions at the start of the race, having qualified on the fifth row of the grid, with Randle passing Reddy just before the last lap incident.

Meanwhile, Enzo Bortoleto finished an impressive eighth, having started from the rear of the grid in 17th place and will start race two on pole.

Al Zubair finished sixth with Thomas Maxwell and Colton Herta, who failed to set a laptime in qualifying, ending ninth and 10th.

The race was a major-blow for championship leader Enaam Ahmed, who pulled off the track while running in fifth place.

He joined Chris Dittmann Quinlan Lall, Double R’s Aleksanteri Huovinen and Akhil Rabindra (Lanan) in the list of retirees along with Ameya Vaidyanthan, who was running a fine seventh until the last lap.

Race 1 results:

Pos Driver TeamTime/Gap 
 Matheus Leist Double R Racing 21'57.732 
 Ricky Collard Carlin 1.748
 Toby Sowery Lanan Racing 2.591
 Thomas Randle Douglas Motorsport 22.169
 Tarun Reddy Fortec Motorsports 24.536
 Faisal Al Zubair Fortec Motorsports 29.647
 Raoul Hyman HHC Motorsport 29.979
 Enzo Bortoleto Double R Racing 31.930
 Thomas Maxwell Sean Walkinshaw Racing 32.288
10   Colton Herta Carlin 32.537
11   Jan Jonck Sean Walkinshaw Racing 33.758
12   Sisa Ngebulana HHC Motorsport 34.855
13   Eugene Denyssen Sean Walkinshaw Racing 41.797
14   Krishnaraaj Mahadik Chris Dittmann Racing 43.631
15   Jeremy Wahome Chris Dittmann Racing 46.266
16   Ben Hingeley HHC Motorsport 58.571
Ret  Ameya Vaidyanathan Carlin  
Ret  Quinlan Lall Chris Dittmann Racing  
Ret  Enaam Ahmed Douglas Motorsport  
Ret  Aleksanteri Huovinen Double R Racing  
Ret  Akhil Rabindra Lanan Racing  


Brands Hatch BF3: Leist snatches pole from Collard

Previous article

Brands Hatch BF3: Leist snatches pole from Collard

Next article

Brands Hatch BF3: Sowery takes dominant maiden British F3 win

Brands Hatch BF3: Sowery takes dominant maiden British F3 win
Load comments