Greaves on pole at Silverstone ELMS

Jon Lancaster claimed pole position for Greaves Motorsport at Silverstone this afternoon.

Greaves on pole at Silverstone ELMS

The 26 year-old set a best time of 1:48.752 to head the similar Jota Sport Gibson driven by Harry Tincknell.

The new Thiriet by TDS Oreca 05 of Tristan Gommendy claimed third with a 1m49.353s lap. The Frenchman might have got close to the ultimate pace but for a big slide at the Aintree left hander on his quickest lap.

Last year's pole sitter Harry Tincknell was expected to challenge the impressive Lancaster in the similar Gibson-Nissan but the British racer blotted his copybook with a lurid spin through the gravel on his first flying lap.

Tincknell, who will complete the whole of the ELMS for Jota Sport as well as Le Mans and the remainder of the WEC with Nissan, recovered to set a 1:49.212 to start alongside the Greaves LMP2 car but 0.460 away from Lancaster's time.

Completing the second row of the grid will be the No.34 AF Corse entered Oreca 03-Nissan. IndyCar refugee Mikhail Aleshin set the time for the Russian entered team which has been forced to run under the auspices of AF Corse this weekend.

In LMGTE it was the AF Corse Ferrari 458 Italia of Michele Rugolo that set the pole lap with a 2m00.151s lap. The Italian, who shares with Stephen Wyatt and Rui Aguas, set a succession of quick laps but eventually peaked on 2:00.151.

Such was the Italian driver's supremacy that even his second fastest time would have been enough for pole today.

Second in class on a 2m00.269s was the No.88 Porsche 911 driven by Klaus Bachler. The German and his team mates Christian Ried and Khaled Al Qubaisi are all taking part in both the ELMS and the WEC this weekend.

GTC pole was taken by Franck Perera in the TDS Racing BMW Z4 on a time of 2m01.939s. The former Toyota F1 test driver shares the car with Eric Dermont and Dino Lunardi.

The ELMS race which is held over four hours is scheduled to start at 14.30 local time today.

Pos  Drivers Team       Time   Gap
Gary Hirsch
Björn Wirdheim
Jon Lancaster
Gibson/Nissan 1'48.752  
Simon Dolan
Harry Tincknell
Gibson/Nissan 1'49.212 0.460
Pierre Thiriet
Ludovic Badey
Tristan Gommendy
ORECA/Nissan 1'49.353 0.601
Mikhail Aleshin
Kirill Ladygin
Anton Ladygin
ORECA/Nissan 1'49.486 0.734
Michael Lyons
Mark Patterson
ORECA/Nissan 1'49.681 0.929
Pu Jun Jin
Nick de Bruijn
ORECA/Nissan 1'50.216 1.464
Leo Roussel
David Cheng
Jonathan Coleman
Morgan/Nissan 1'50.757 2.005
Pierre Perret
Ivan Bellarosa
José Ibanez
ORECA/Nissan 1'51.418 2.666
Maurizio Mediani
Devi Markozov
ORECA/Nissan 1'52.020 3.268
10  Michele La Rosa
Yutaka Yamagishi
ORECA/Nissan 1'53.096 4.344
11  Tracy Krohn
Nic Jönsson
Oswaldo Negri
Ligier/Judd 1'55.589 6.837
12  Chris Hoy
Ginetta/Nissan 1'59.892 11.140
13  Steve Wyatt
Michele Rugolo
Rui Águas
Ferrari 2'00.151 11.399
14  Klaus Bachler
K.Al Qubaisi
Christian Ried
Porsche 2'00.269 11.517
15  Mike Simpson
Gaëtan Paletou
Ginetta/Nissan 2'00.457 11.705
16  A.Talkanitsa
A.Talkanitsa Jr.
Ferrari 2'00.478 11.726
17  Andy Priaulx
Henry Hassid
Jesse Krohn
BMW 2'00.480 11.728
18  Mike Wainwright
Adam Carroll
Philip Keen
Porsche 2'00.641 11.889
19  G.Richardson
Robert Smith
Sam Tordoff
Ferrari 2'00.997 12.245
20  Duncan Cameron
Matt Griffin
Aaron Scott
Ferrari 2'01.110 12.358
21  Peter Mann
Matteo Cressoni
Ferrari 2'01.336 12.584
22  Johnny Laursen
Mikkel Mac
Andrea Rizzoli
Ferrari 2'01.437 12.685
23  Franck Perera
Dino Lunardi
Eric Dermont
BMW 2'01.939 13.187
24  Alex Craven
Joey Foster
Charlie Hollings
Ginetta/Nissan 2'02.045 13.293
25  Rob Garofall
Jens Petersen
Ginetta/Nissan 2'02.686 13.934
26  Giorgio Roda
Ilya Melnikov
Marco Cioci
Ferrari 2'03.002 14.250
27  Thomas Flohr
Stuart Hall
Ferrari 2'03.298 14.546
28  Mads Rasmussen
Filipe Barreiros
Francisco Guedes
Ferrari 2'03.564 14.812
29  Simon Moller
Casper Elgaard
Kristian Poulsen
Aston Martin 2'04.046 15.294
30  Roald Goethe
Daniel Brown
Archie Hamilton
Lamborghini 2'04.596 15.844
31  Konstantins Calko
Jesus Pliego
Ginetta/Nissan 2'06.697 17.945
Greaves Gibson fastest in second ELMS session

Previous article

Greaves Gibson fastest in second ELMS session

Next article

Lancaster clinches chaotic ELMS opener for Greaves after late-race contact

Lancaster clinches chaotic ELMS opener for Greaves after late-race contact
Load comments

About this article

Series European Le Mans
Event Silverstone
Location Silverstone Circuit
Drivers Nic Jönsson
Teams Greaves Motorsport