Formula 1
Formula 1
Styrian GP
09 Jul
12 Jul
Next event in
36 days
70th Anniversary GP
06 Aug
09 Aug
Next event in
64 days
13 Aug
16 Aug
FP1 in
72 days
03 Sep
06 Sep
FP1 in
93 days
Singapore GP
17 Sep
20 Sep
FP1 in
107 days
24 Sep
27 Sep
FP1 in
114 days
29 Oct
01 Nov
FP1 in
149 days
Brazilian GP
12 Nov
15 Nov
FP1 in
163 days
Abu Dhabi GP
26 Nov
29 Nov
FP1 in
177 days

Belgian GP: Vettel passes Hamilton to take victory

Belgian GP: Vettel passes Hamilton to take victory
Aug 26, 2018, 2:44 PM

Sebastian Vettel claimed a dominant victory in the Belgian Grand Prix as a dramatic first-corner crash provided the major talking point on Formula 1's return from its summer break.

Vettel drafted title rival and pole-man Lewis Hamilton on the Kemmel Straight on the opening lap, passing his rival as the Racing Point Force Indias of Esteban Ocon and Sergio Perez almost made it four-abreast heading towards Les Combes.

Ocon backed out having pulled almost level with Vettel, allowing the German to hold the lead from Hamilton as Perez swept around the outside of Ocon into third.

That happened just before the race was neutralised following a massive first-corner crash in which Fernando Alonso was pitched airborne over Charles Leclerc.

Nico Hulkenberg locked both front wheels on his Renault and slammed into the rear of Alonso, who was launched into the back of – and then over –Leclerc, hitting the Sauber's halo device on the way down.

All three cars were eliminated on the spot, and the drivers emerged under their own steam.

Daniel Ricciardo's rear wing was broken by the flying Alonso, contributing to the Red Bull running wide through La Source and inflicting a right-rear puncture on Kimi Raikkonen's Ferrari.

Ricciardo and Raikkonen pitted for repairs before rejoining, although they did not complete the race – Raikkonen stopped a few laps later while Ricciardo, who fell two laps down as Red Bull worked on his car, returned to the garage with 13 laps to go.

Racing resumed after four laps, with Hamilton half-attacking Vettel into the final chicane at the restart but falling into line with a small lock-up.

Vettel quickly built a three-second lead that he maintained until Mercedes brought Hamilton in on lap 21, with Vettel following suit one lap later at exactly the halfway mark.

Hamilton's rapid out-lap threatened to put him in position to attack Vettel but he caught the Red Bull of Max Verstappen at the end of the lap, which meant Vettel emerged out of the DRS zone.

The Ferrari quickly re-established its healthy advantage, as Hamilton drifted back and eventually finished more than 10 seconds behind as Vettel cut his championship lead to 17 points.

Verstappen scored a lonely third place after getting ahead of the Racing Point Force Indias early on, drafting Ocon on the run to Les Combes three laps after the restart and pulling the same move on Perez a few laps later.

Verstappen ended up half a minute behind the winner and roughly the same amount clear of Valtteri Bottas, who claimed fourth in the closing stages.

The Mercedes driver started at the back after exceeding his engine limit for the season by taking the manufacturer's upgraded engine, but climbed steadily up the order and passed Perez with just a few laps to go.

That demoted the 'new' Force India team to fifth and sixth on its debut, as its 18-point haul immediately put the entry ahead of Williams and just one point behind Sauber, which only stays ahead because of Marcus Ericsson's 10th-place finish.

Haas duo Romain Grosjean and Kevin Magnussen enjoyed a quietly effective grand prix to finish seventh and eighth, which moved them to just six points behind Renault in the fight for fourth in the constructors' championship.

Carlos Sainz's 11th meant the French manufacturer failed to score for only the second time this year.

Newly-confirmed 2019 Red Bull driver Pierre Gasly bagged two points for Toro Rosso and Honda in ninth place, with Ericsson completing the top 10.

Cla Driver Chassis Engine Time Gap
1 Germany Sebastian Vettel  Ferrari Ferrari    
2 United Kingdom Lewis Hamilton  Mercedes Mercedes 11.061  
3 Netherlands Max Verstappen  Red Bull TAG 31.372  
4 Finland Valtteri Bottas  Mercedes Mercedes 1'03.605  
5 Mexico Sergio Perez  Force India Mercedes 1'11.023  
6 France Esteban Ocon  Force India Mercedes 1'19.520  
7 France Romain Grosjean  Haas Ferrari 1'25.953  
8 Denmark Kevin Magnussen  Haas Ferrari 1'27.639  
9 France Pierre Gasly  Toro Rosso Honda 1'45.892  
10 Sweden Marcus Ericsson  Sauber Ferrari 1 lap  
11 Spain Carlos Sainz Jr.  Renault Renault 1 lap  
12 Russian Federation Sergey Sirotkin  Williams Mercedes 1 lap  
13 Canada Lance Stroll  Williams Mercedes 1 lap  
14 New Zealand Brendon Hartley  Toro Rosso Honda 1 lap  
15 Belgium Stoffel Vandoorne  McLaren Renault 1 lap  
16 Australia Daniel Ricciardo  Red Bull TAG    
17 Finland Kimi Raikkonen  Ferrari Ferrari    
18 Monaco Charles Leclerc  Sauber Ferrari    
19 Spain Fernando Alonso  McLaren Renault    
20 Germany Nico Hulkenberg  Renault Renault    
Next article
Alonso mystified by Hulkenberg's start mistake

Previous article

Alonso mystified by Hulkenberg's start mistake

Next article

Ocon: I needed one more metre to lead race

Ocon: I needed one more metre to lead race
Load comments

About this article

Series Formula 1
Drivers Sebastian Vettel Shop Now
Teams Ferrari Shop Now
Author Scott Mitchell