Paris ePrix: Buemi tops FP1 by 0.7s

Paris ePrix: Buemi tops FP1 by 0.7s
May 20, 2017, 7:33 AM

Formula E points leader Sebastien Buemi was fastest in the first session for this afternoon's Paris ePrix at the Les Invalides street circuit.

The Renault e.dams driver put in a late 200kW lap to end up 0.7s ahead of Jose-Maria Lopez, who had been quickest for much of the latter stages of the session.

The DS Virgin driver recovered from a lock -up at Turn 1, which saw him gently nudge the wall in the opening moments of the 45 minute session. The Argentine was able to continue unaffected and finished the session as runner-up.

Jean-Eric Vergne was third for Techeetah, while Lucas di Grassi placed fourth for ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport.

Mahindra’s Felix Rosenqvist set the fifth fastest time ahead of last season’s pole-sitter Sam Bird. The latter caused a red flag in the session after he parked his DS Virgin Racing car on the circuit after he suffered a complete power shutdown.

Mike Conway was an impressive seventh as he made his Faraday Future Dragon debut, replacing the DTM-bound Loic Duval.

Nelson Piquet (NextEV), Nick Heidfeld (Mahindra) and Nicolas Prost rounded out the top ten.

Oliver Turvey was 14th fastest but will start the Paris ePrix this afternoon with a ten-place grid penalty after a motor change was undertaken on his NextEV car.

Notable incidents were Techeetah’s Esteban Gutierrez having a trip up the Turn 7 escape road and both of the ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport drivers, Lucas di Grassi and Daniel Abt locking up and having to perform reversing manoeuvres after trips down the Turn 1 escape road.

The second practice session is scheduled to begin at 10.30 local time.

Practice 1 results

1 9 switzerland Sébastien Buemi france DAMS 22 1'01.998  
2 37 argentina Jose Maria Lopez united_kingdom Virgin Racing 26 1'02.715 0.717
3 25 france Jean-Eric Vergne china Techeetah 30 1'03.039 1.041
4 11 brazil Lucas di Grassi germany Team Abt 29 1'03.061 1.063
5 19 sweden Felix Rosenqvist india Mahindra Racing 30 1'03.064 1.066
6 2 united_kingdom Sam Bird united_kingdom Virgin Racing 18 1'03.068 1.070
7 6 united_kingdom Mike Conway united_states Dragon Racing 28 1'03.248 1.250
8 3 brazil Nelson Piquet Jr. china NEXTEV TCR Formula E Team 29 1'03.326 1.328
9 23 germany Nick Heidfeld india Mahindra Racing 27 1'03.360 1.362
10 8 france Nicolas Prost france DAMS 24 1'03.396 1.398
11 20 new_zealand Mitch Evans united_kingdom Jaguar Racing 27 1'03.437 1.439
12 27 netherlands Robin Frijns united_states Andretti Autosport 27 1'03.451 1.453
13 66 germany Daniel Abt germany Team Abt 30 1'03.591 1.593
14 88 united_kingdom Oliver Turvey china NEXTEV TCR Formula E Team 30 1'03.619 1.621
15 7 belgium Jérôme d'Ambrosio united_states Dragon Racing 24 1'03.775 1.777
16 28 portugal Antonio Felix da Costa united_states Andretti Autosport 31 1'03.848 1.850
17 5 france Tom Dillmann monaco Venturi 29 1'03.864 1.866
18 33 mexico Esteban Gutierrez china Techeetah 23 1'03.888 1.890
19 4 france Stéphane Sarrazin monaco Venturi 27 1'04.052 2.054
20 47 united_kingdom Adam Carroll united_kingdom Jaguar Racing 29 1'04.201 2.203


Next article
Winner of Mahindra Driven by Design contest announced

Previous article

Winner of Mahindra Driven by Design contest announced

Next article

Paris ePrix: Di Grassi tops FP2 with last-gasp lap

Paris ePrix: Di Grassi tops FP2 with last-gasp lap
Load comments

About this article

Series Formula E
Event Paris ePrix
Location Streets of Paris
Drivers Sébastien Buemi , Jose Maria Lopez , Jean-Eric Vergne
Teams DAMS
Author Sam Smith