Paris ePrix: Di Grassi tops FP2 with last-gasp lap

Paris ePrix: Di Grassi tops FP2 with last-gasp lap
May 20, 2017, 9:23 AM

Last year’s Paris ePrix winner Lucas di Grassi topped second practice for Formula E’s return to the French capital.

The Abt Audi Sport driver left it to the dying moments of the session to go quickest by two tenths of a second.

Di Grassi and championship leader Sebastien Buemi were among several drivers to leave it late to carry out a 200kW lap in FP2.

In the closing minutes of the session Jose Maria Lopez was quickest on a 1m01.559s, which Buemi could not quite match on a last-minute qualifying simulation and ended up 0.022s adrift of in his Renault e.dams machine.

Moments later di Grassi vaulted to the top with a 1m01.359s, fractionally faster than Mike Conway’s practice benchmark last year.

Daniel Abt backed up the Audi-backed team’s pace with the fourth-fastest time, just 0.01s slower than FP1 pacesetter Buemi – whose Renault team struggled here last season.

The track appears slower here than last year, despite warmer temperatures due to the race taking place a month later, with no real improvement in laptimes.

Turn 1 continued to catch drivers out, with di Grassi and Lopez among several drivers to lock up and run deep into the run-off area.

Techeetah drivers Jean-Eric Vergne and Esteban Gutierrez and Jaguar’s Adam Carroll, who ended FP2 slowest, also had trips down the escape road.

Vergne’s attempt at a 200kW was scruffy and only good enough to ninth ahead of qualifying for his home race, as the Renault-powered Frenchman seeks to end his Formula E win drought.

Apart from a lurid slide at Turn 14 the returning Conway performed well standing in for the DTM-competing Loic Duval at Faraday Future Dragon Racing.

He was only 16th fastest but was 0.033s slower than team-mate Jerome d’Ambrosio.

Formula E debutant Tom Dillmann, in for Maro Engel (also on DTM duty) at Venturi, was 18th, 1.4s off the pace and three tenths slower than Stephane Sarrazin in the same car.

FP2 results

1 11 brazil Lucas di Grassi germany Team Abt 21 1'01.359  
2 37 argentina Jose Maria Lopez united_kingdom Virgin Racing 20 1'01.559 0.200
3 9 switzerland Sébastien Buemi france DAMS 20 1'01.581 0.222
4 66 germany Daniel Abt germany Team Abt 23 1'01.591 0.232
5 2 united_kingdom Sam Bird united_kingdom Virgin Racing 14 1'01.605 0.246
6 19 sweden Felix Rosenqvist india Mahindra Racing 20 1'01.707 0.348
7 8 france Nicolas Prost france DAMS 16 1'01.808 0.449
8 88 united_kingdom Oliver Turvey china NEXTEV TCR Formula E Team 19 1'01.923 0.564
9 25 france Jean-Eric Vergne china Techeetah 20 1'02.031 0.672
10 27 netherlands Robin Frijns united_states Andretti Autosport 17 1'02.271 0.912
11 3 brazil Nelson Piquet Jr. china NEXTEV TCR Formula E Team 15 1'02.296 0.937
12 33 mexico Esteban Gutierrez china Techeetah 15 1'02.328 0.969
13 4 france Stéphane Sarrazin monaco Venturi 22 1'02.419 1.060
14 20 new_zealand Mitch Evans united_kingdom Jaguar Racing 19 1'02.463 1.104
15 7 belgium Jérôme d'Ambrosio united_states Dragon Racing 19 1'02.492 1.133
16 6 united_kingdom Mike Conway united_states Dragon Racing 18 1'02.525 1.166
17 28 portugal Antonio Felix da Costa united_states Andretti Autosport 13 1'02.573 1.214
18 5 france Tom Dillmann monaco Venturi 25 1'02.789 1.430
19 23 germany Nick Heidfeld india Mahindra Racing 14 1'02.929 1.570
20 47 united_kingdom Adam Carroll united_kingdom Jaguar Racing 18 1'03.137 1.778


Next article
Paris ePrix: Buemi tops FP1 by 0.7s

Previous article

Paris ePrix: Buemi tops FP1 by 0.7s

Next article

Paris ePrix: Buemi denies Vergne pole by 0.006s

Paris ePrix: Buemi denies Vergne pole by 0.006s
Load comments