Albon and Rosenqvist grab poles in close second qualifying

Alex Albon and Felix Rosenqvist shared poles in the second European F3 qualifying session at Algarve, where the top four drivers were separated by only 0.094s.

Albon and Rosenqvist grab poles in close second qualifying
Third place Alexander Albon, Signature Dallara F312 Volkswagen
Alexander Albon, Signature Dallara F312 Volkswagen
Felix Rosenqvist, Prema Powerteam Dallara F312 - Mercedes-Benz
Felix Rosenqvist, Prema Powerteam Dallara F312 - Mercedes-Benz
Nick Cassidy, Three Bond with T-Sport Dallara F314 NBE
Lance Stroll, Prema Powerteam Dallara F312 Mercedes-Benz

Albon set his best time of 1m41.976s with two minutes left on the clock as he became the first driver of the meeting to dip below the 1m42s barrier.

Felix Rosenqvist soon slotted into second with still enough time to run another lap.

However, Albon remained ahead as the Swede was only able to shave off a couple of hundredths and fell 0.027s short.

Prema newcomer Nick Cassidy was demoted to third, despite achieving the fastest first sector during his last flyer, but still managed to deny Ferrari-protege Lance Stroll by 0.004s.

Jake Dennis, leader of the first qualifying, secured fifth to complete a Prema 2-3-4-5, beating both Antonio Giovinazzi and Gustavo Menezes by less than a tenth.

George Russell ended up eighth ahead of Dorian Boccolacci, Pietro Fittipaldi and Charles Leclerc.

Thanks to his quick laps in the final stage of the session, Rosenqvist secured pole for race three on second-best times while Albon will only start 12th, having spent most of the session outside the top ten.

Stroll will join the Swede on the front row, with Dennis completing an all-Prema top three for the second time this weekend.

Russell will start fourth, followed by Menezes, Mucke’s Mikkel Jensen and Motopark duo Sergio Sette Camara and Markus Pommer.

The grid’s top ten is completed by Fittipaldi and Callum Ilott, while title contenders Leclerc and Giovinazzi are set to begin the race from 11th and 15th respectively.

 Pos  Driver   Team Time/Delay 
Alexander Albon Signature 1m41.976s 
Felix Rosenqvist Prema Powerteam 0.027s
Nick Cassidy Prema Powerteam 0.090s
Lance Stroll Prema Powerteam 0.094s
Jake Dennis Prema Powerteam 0.159s
Antonio Giovinazzi Carlin 0.195s
Gustavo Menezes Carlin 0.254s
George Russell Carlin 0.315s
Dorian Boccolacci Signature 0.424s
10  Pietro Fittipaldi Fortec 0.444s
11  Charles Leclerc Van Amresfoort Racing 0.498s
12  Callum Ilott Carlin 0.539s
13  Markus Pommer Motopark 0.550s
14  Ryan Tveter Carlin 0.554s
15  Maximilian Gunther Mucke Motorsport 0.554s
16  Mikkel Jensen Mucke Motorsport 0.555s
17  Sergio Sette Camara Motopark 0.587s
18  Alexander Sims HitechGP 0.626s
19  Arjun Maini Van Amersfoort Racing 0.697s
20  Santino Ferrucci Mucke Motorsport 0.791s
21  Michele Beretta Mucke Motorsport 0.844s
22  Alessio Lorandi Van Amersfoort Racing 0.856s
23  Sam MacLeod Motopark 0.862s
24  Andy Chang Fortec 0.891s
25  Raoul Hyman West-Tec 0.911s
26  Nabil Jeffri Motopark 0.942s
27  Julio Moreno ThreeBond 1.011s
28  Tatiana Calderon Carlin 1.071s
29  Matt Rao Fortec 1.242s
30  Matt Solomon Double R Racing 1.359s
31  Zhi Cong Li Fortec 1.525s
32  M.Raghunathan Motopark 1.861s



FIA Formula 3 European Championship to make its Portugal debut

Maini and Raghunathan's Portimao qualifying round-up