Formula 1 MotoGP
07 Aug
Event finished
Austrian GP
14 Aug
FP1 in
2 days
Formula E
Berlin ePrix V
12 Aug
FP1 in
10 Hours
51 Minutes
59 Seconds
08 Aug
Event finished
17 Jul
Event finished
12 Aug
Practice 1 in
18 Hours
51 Minutes
59 Seconds
19 Nov
Next event in
99 days
12 Jul
Event finished
15 Aug
Practice 1 in
3 days

Spielberg F3: Stroll doubles up with dominant Race 3 win

Spielberg F3: Stroll doubles up with dominant Race 3 win
May 22, 2016, 10:04 AM

European F3 championship leader Lance Stroll has secured another lights-to-flag win in the final race of the Spielberg round.

While Stroll had a good getaway to lead off the line, rival George Russell lost a couple positions and ended up sending David Beckmann into a spin at Turn 2.

The German rookie managed to rejoin in the back of the field but the Hitech driver had to retire in the pits with damage.

A lap later, the safety car entered the track as Mikkel Jensen was squeezed out by Alessio Lorandi on approach to Remus, the Dane retiring in the gravel after contact.

Stroll and second-placed Callum Ilott quickly separated themselves from the rest of the grid on the restart, as Joel Eriksson attacked Motopark teammate Niko Kari for third.

Losing momentum at Turn 1 and bunching up the field behind, Eriksson and Kari were shuffled down the order, passed by Maximilian Gunther and Ben Barnicoat.

At the front, Stroll quickly established a safe lead and completed the race with a gap of 4.8s, as Ilott took his second podium finish of the weekend.

Gunther and Barnicoat finished third and fourth respectively, with Sergio Sette Camara passing Eriksson for fifth.

Guan Yu Zhou took seventh followed by Kari and Ralf Aron.

Beckmann recovered after his early spin to pass Nick Cassidy for 10th, but was subsequently given a time penalty for track limits.

Full results

1  Lance Stroll Prema Powerteam 35:15.242
2  Callum Ilott Van Amersfoort Racing +4.867s
3  Maximilian Gunther Prema Powerteam +11.067s
4  Ben Barnicoat Hitech GP +12.422s
5  Sergio Sette Camara Motopark +14.329s
6  Joel Eriksson Motopark +19.040s
7  Guan Yu Zhou Motopark +19.413s
8  Niko Kari Motopark +19.872s
9  Ralf Aron Prema Powerteam +26.071s
10  Nick Cassidy Prema Powerteam +27.450s
11  Harrison Newey Van Amersfoort Racing +43.074s
12  David Beckmann kfzteile24 Mücke Motorsport +46.608s
13  Pedro Piquet Van Amersfoort Racing +46.965s
14  Nikita Mazepin Hitech GP +47.777s
15  Weiron Tan Carlin +52.876s
16  Anthoine Hubert Van Amersfoort Racing +56.566s
17  Alessio Lorandi Carlin +1m12.390s
18  Arjun Maini ThreeBond with T-Sport +1m19.559s
R  Mikkel Jensen kfzteile24 Mücke Motorsport +22 laps
R  George Russell Hitech GP +23 laps
Li diagnosed with broken heel bones, fractured vertebrae

Previous article

Li diagnosed with broken heel bones, fractured vertebrae

Next article

Stroll selected as a BRDC Rising Star

Stroll selected as a BRDC Rising Star
Load comments

About this article

Series Formula European Masters
Event Spielberg
Location Red Bull Ring
Author David Gruz