Aragon Eurocup: Norris scores maiden Formula Renault win in Race 2

Reigning MSA Formula and Toyota Racing Series champion Lando Norris took his maiden Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 victory in the second of three races at Aragon.

Aragon Eurocup: Norris scores maiden Formula Renault win in Race 2

Starting second, Norris enjoyed a slightly better getaway that Max Defourny, going side-by-side with the Belgian through the opening sequence of corners and eventually edging ahead.

Defourny, winner of Race 1, soon found himself behind Dorian Boccolacci as well, the former Lotus junior taking second on the outside of the Turn 1.

In front, Norris showed superior pace to lead by two seconds in a couple of laps but his lead vanished after the collision between Fortec teammates Vasily Romanov and Nikita Troitskiy, which brought out the safety car.

Boccolacci managed to go nearly level with Norris on the restart but the latter held off the attack by forcing the Tech 1 driver to the outside.

Norris then slowly started to edge away to eventually take the chequered flag by 1.6s, not affected by small rain creating damp conditions for the final minutes.

Boccolacci took second with Harrison Scott completing the podium, having also overtaken Defourny, the pole-sitter settling for fourth.

Despite initially running fifth, Robert Shwartzman fell behind JKR teammate Jehan Daruvala and reigning BRDC F4 champion Will Palmer, the duo taking fifth and sixth respectively.

The Russian also lost out to Ferdinand Habsburg during the final lap with Portuguese driver Henrique Chaves and Gabriel Aubry completing the top 10.

The race concluded with a major incident between Nerses Isaakyan and Sacha Fenestraz, the latter forced off-track and then hitting the Russian at the braking point, Isaakyan's car flipping over as a result.

Race 2 results:

 PosDriver TeamTime/Gap 
 Lando Norris Josef Kaufmann Racing 28'34.871 
 Dorian Boccolacci Tech 1 Racing 1.604
 Harrison Scott AVF by Adrian Valles 3.120
 Max Defourny R-ace GP 4.088
 Jehan Daruvala Josef Kaufmann Racing 4.701
 Will Palmer R-ace GP 13.145
 Ferdinand Habsburg Fortec Motorsports 13.388
 Robert Shwartzman Josef Kaufmann Racing 13.715
 Henrique Chaves Jr. AVF by Adrian Valles 13.808
10   Gabriel Aubry Tech 1 Racing 14.156
11   Julien Falchero R-ace GP 14.356
12   Bruno Baptista Fortec Motorsports 15.187
13   James Allen JD Motorsport 20.737
14   Sacha Fenestraz Tech 1 Racing 28.350
15   Alexey Korneev JD Motorsport 31.416
16   Rodrigo Pflucker Cram Motorsport 33.263
17   David Porcelli MGR Motorsport 38.154
18   David Richert Cram Motorsport 48.601
19   Julia Pankiewicz AVF by Adrian Valles 48.885
20   Nerses Isaakyan AVF by Adrian Valles  
Ret  Nikita Troitskiy Fortec Motorsports  
Ret  Vasiliy Romanov Fortec Motorsports  
Ret  Alex Perullo Technorace  
Ret  Hugo de Sadeleer Tech 1 Racing  


Aragon Eurocup: Defourny controls first race of season

Previous article

Aragon Eurocup: Defourny controls first race of season

Next article

Aragon Eurocup: Norris hangs on to take second win

Aragon Eurocup: Norris hangs on to take second win
Load comments