Daruvala's rounds out his first season in Europe

Jehan Daruvala completed his first year in single-seaters last weekend in the season finale of Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 championship at Jerez.

Daruvala's rounds out his first season in Europe
Jehan Daruvala, Fortec Motorsports
Winner Jack Aitken
Ben Barnicoat
2015 champion Jack Aitken
Jehan Daruvala, Fortec Motorsports
Jehan Daruvala
Jehan Daruvala, Fortec Motorsports
Jehan Daruvala, Fortec Motorsport
Jehan Daruvala, Fortec Motorsports
FR 2.0 starting grid
Jack Aitken
Jack Aitken

Competing as a guest driver in the series, this was Daruvala's third appearance with Fortec Motorsports after driving in Silverstone and Nurburgring.

The last race of Daruvala's maiden year in single-seaters as a rookie, started with 18th and second in the two practice sessions headed by Max Defourny (ART) and Matevos Isaakyan (JD Motorsport) respectively.

Qualifying round-up

As per the format of Eurocup, qualifying was divided into two groups - Daruvala was in the second group where he finished 12th for race one.

The pole sitter, however, was Jack Aitken (Koiranen GP) from the first group which meant the Indian was to start 24th in the first race.

Taking the second-best time for race two, it was Aitken again who clinched pole as Daruvala was 12th, meaning he was 24th for the second race of the weekend.

In the second qualifying, Fortec's Ben Barnicoat, from the first group took pole while Daruvala was seventh in his group and 14th for the final race of the season.

Steady progress in race one

Starting from the back of the grid, it was always a challenge for the Indian but a good learning experience. By lap four, Daruvala was already up to 19th battling with BVM's Danylo Pronenko, whom his dispatched on lap seven to be 18th.

After a back and forth battle with JD Motorsport's Thiago Vivacqua, Daruvala eventually finished 15th after making up two more positions on the final lap.

Aitken took the win from Josef Kaufmann Racing's Kevin Jorg and Manor's Ignazio D'Agosto in the first race of the final weekend.

Similar pattern in second race

Once again, Daruvala was thrown into a difficult situation of starting from behind and having to make his way up in the competitive field of Eurocup, in the treacherous conditions at Jerez.

He gained a position at the start to 23rd and it was a steady progress, where he moved to 15th after all the retirements from the race by lap nine.

In the end, he finished 14th behind ARTA's Amaury Richard - the French driver was aided by a safety car period which limited Daruvala's chances to make a move.

Aitken doubled up with a win in the second race followed by D'Agosto in second and Barnicoat third.

Retirement in the final race

The final race of the season was greeted by wet weather again as Daruvala started from 14th, behind the safety car.

Once the race got going, the Indian made up two places to 12th before coming to a halt on lap seven and retiring, thus ending his first year in single-seater racing.

Barnicoat took the win from Tech 1's Anthoine Hubert and D'Agosto, as the season came to a close. Aitken was crowned champion ahead of Josef Kaufmann Racing's Louis Deletraz and Jorg.

Daruvala in the three rounds of Eurocup had a rather difficult outing with seventh in Nurburging being his best finish as a guest driver.

MSA Formula champion Norris eyes Formula Renault for 2016
Previous article

MSA Formula champion Norris eyes Formula Renault for 2016

Next article

Eurocup champion Aitken considering F3.5, GP3 for 2016

Eurocup champion Aitken considering F3.5, GP3 for 2016
Load comments