Formula 1
31 Jul
Event finished
07 Aug
Race in
15 Hours
57 Minutes
16 Seconds
24 Jul
Event finished
07 Aug
Warm Up in
10 Hours
27 Minutes
16 Seconds
Formula E NASCAR Cup
02 Aug
Event finished
17 Jul
Event finished
21 Aug
Next event in
12 days
19 Nov
Next event in
102 days
12 Jul
Event finished
15 Aug
Practice 1 in
6 days

Bernhard, Rast head new 2018 ROC additions

Bernhard, Rast head new 2018 ROC additions
Jan 26, 2018, 10:17 AM

World Endurance and DTM champions Timo Bernhard and Rene Rast are among the latest drivers to have signed up for this year's Race Of Champions in Saudi Arabia.

#77 Mazda Team Joest Mazda DPi: René Rast, #55 Mazda Team Joest Mazda DPi: Harry Tincknell, Jonathan Bomarito
René Rast, Audi Sport Team Rosberg, Audi RS 5 DTM
Johan Kristoffersson
Andreas Bakkerud, Hoonigan Racing Division Ford Focus RS, Johan Kristoffersson, Volkswagen Team Sweden, Volkswagen Polo GT
Pole position for Joel Eriksson, Motopark with VEB, Dallara Volkswagen
#22 G-Drive Racing, Oreca 07 - Gibson: Memo Rojas, Ryo Hirakawa, Leo Roussel with the team

Bernhard, who claimed the WEC title alongside Earl Bamber and Brendon Hartley for Porsche last year, will make his Race Of Champions debut in the February 2-3 event at the King Fahd International Stadium.

“Believe it or not I visited the Race Of Champions way back in 1989 when it came to the Nürburgring," said Bernhard.

"That day I was just watching with my dad [Rudiger] but ever since I’ve been waiting for my chance to compete – and now that day has arrived!

"I’m really looking forward to racing on the famous ROC parallel track, and it will be a true privilege to take on such an amazing field of great drivers from all over the world who are all experts in their own fields."

German Rast claimed the DTM title in his first full year in the German tin-top series and joins compatriot Bernhard in the 2018 field.

World Rallycross champion Johan Kristofferson will also make his debut in the event, and will be joined by fellow Swede and new BMW DTM driver Joel Eriksson, who was runner-up in the European Formula 3 Championship last year behind McLaren Formula 1 junior Lando Norris.

Memo Rojas, the 2017 European Le Mans Series champion, and NASCAR Mexico champion Abraham Calderon will also join the field of drivers announced for the event, which includes ex-F1 driver Juan Pablo Montoya, Tom Kristensen and Norris.

"Our field now contains a mix of legends and current champions from Le Mans, IndyCar, Rally X, Formula 1, Touring Cars, NASCAR and more," said ROC president Fredrik Johnsson.

"If you’ve ever wondered which type of motorsport really has the best drivers of all, next week’s ROC Riyadh will give you the perfect chance to find out!"

Prost to debut Andros Trophy's new electric car

Previous article

Prost to debut Andros Trophy's new electric car

Next article

Bell appeals to racing community following burglary

Bell appeals to racing community following burglary
Load comments