Ferrari claim another endurance victory in Sepang

There was plenty of hype ahead of the inaugural Sepang 3-Hour event that signaled round seven of the 2015 GT Asia Series - the first endurance event in the history of the series more than lived up to the hype.

Ferrari claim another endurance victory in Sepang
#37 BBT Ferrari 458 GT3: Anthony Liu, Davide Rizzo
#11 Singha Ferrari 458: Piti Bhirom Bhakdi, Carlo Van Dam
#99 Craft-Bamboo Aston Martin: Darryl O’Young, Daniel Lloyd
#99 Craft-Bamboo Aston Martin: Darryl O’Young, Daniel Lloyd
#55 FFF Racing McLaren GT3: Hiroshi Hamaguchi, Tonio Liuzzi
#88 Craft-Bamboo Aston Martin: Frank Yu, Richard Lyons
Adderly Fong, Keita Sawa - #8 Absolute Bentley Continental GT3
#2 Oman Racing Team Aston Martin Vantage GT3: Ahman Al Harthy, Daniel Lloyd
#99 Craft-Bamboo Racing Aston Martin: Darryl O’Young, Jonathan Venter
#37 BBT Ferrari 458 Italia GT3: Anthony Liu, Davide Rizzo

Mother nature added a nice twist to the event too with intermittent rain falling late in the first hour, and again in the middle stages of the race just as a dry-line started to appear, but in the end, nothing could stop the BBT Ferrari duo of Anthony Liu and Davide Rizzo from claiming their second win of the year, to jump right back into title contention heading into the final two rounds of the season.

Whilst Ferrari was clearly the car to have in Sepang, the Craft-Bamboo Racing Aston Martin pairing of Darryl O’Young and new co-driver Daniel Lloyd did everything in their power to upstage the ‘Maranello machines’, claiming pole position earlier in the day, before O’Young drove a brilliant opening stint to lead for much of the first hour.

After the compulsory pit stops had cleared though, it looked to be a battle between BBT and the TP12 Racing Team of Todd Piti and Carlo Van Dam, but ultimately points leaders Keita Sawa and Adderly Fong worked the Bentley Continental into contention in the difficult conditions late in the race to claim second, marginally ahead of the storming Daniel Lloyd.

Heading to Shanghai

Next up we’re heading to Shanghai, where a quick look back at the results of last year suggests that BBT’s rivals will have a tough time heading to Chinese team’s home circuit, with both Liu and Rizzo claiming a pole-apiece in 2014, ahead of a comfortable victory in race one. One thing is for certain though, this championship is a long way from over!

It’s just a short three week break until the penultimate round of the season where we will once again return to ‘sprint’ format, with two scheduled 60-minute races, ahead of the final round of the championship in Thailand, for the first ever event for GT Asia on the new Chang International Circuit in Buriram.


1. 37. Anthony Liu/Davide Rizzo (BBT Ferrari 458 GT3) - 72-laps
2. 8. Keita Sawa/Adderly Fong (Absolute Bentley GT3)
3. 99. Darryl O’Young/Daniel Lloyd (Craft-Bamboo Aston)
4. 1. Mok Weng Sun/James Calado (Clearwater Racing Ferrari)
5. 11. Carlo Van Dam/Piti Bhirom Bhakdi (Singha Ferrari 458)
6. 77. Duncan Tappy/Jacky Yeung (Absolute Bentley Continental) - 71-laps
7. 27. Dominic Ang/Adrian D’Silva (Nexus Infinity Ferrari 458 GT3)
8. 86. Zen Low/Fairuz Fauzy (OD Racing Gallardo GT3) - 70-laps
9. 7. Jeffrey Lee/Andy Meyrick (Absolute Bentley GT3)

10. 88. Frank Yu/Richard Lyons (Craft-Bamboo Aston Martin)
11. 23. Jerry Wang/Warren Luff (Absolute Racing Audi R8 LMS GT3)* - 69-laps
12. 87. Keong Wee Lim/Melvin Moh (GDL Racing Porsche Type 997 Cup S)* - 68-laps
13. 67. Keong Liam Lim/Nigel Farmer (GDL Racing Porsche 997 Cup)
14. 20. Dylan Derdaele/Hasashi Kunie (Gulf JP Porsche GT3 Cup)* - 66-laps
15. 78. Robert Lee/George Chou (Taiwan Top Speed Ferrari 458)*
16. 15. Rod Salmon/Nathan Antunes (FFF Racing McLaren 650S) - 65-laps
17. 22. Keiichi Mori/Tetsuya Makino (Gulf JP Porsche GT3-R) - 64-laps
23. 95. Craig liu/K.S. Wang (Taiwan Top Speed Ferrari Challenge)*

DNF. 5. Ronald Wu/Andrea Caldarelli (FFF Racing McLaren GT3)
- 46-laps
DNF. 12. Hiroki Katoh/Richard Wee (Clearwater Racing Ferrari) - 40-laps
DNF. 34. Takuma Aoki/Ken Urata (Dilango Gallardo FL2 GT3)* - 27-laps
DNF. 68. Yuk Lung Siu/Mak Hing Tak (LKM Racing Porsche GT3-R) - 15-laps
DNF. 71. Graeme Dowsett/John Curran (Team NZ Porsche 997 Cup Car)* - 15-laps
DNF. 55. Hiroshi Hamaguchi/Tonio Liuzzi (FFF Racing McLaren GT3) - 10-laps
*GTM Class

GT Asia Series

GT Asia Series prepares for maiden endurance event at Sepang
Previous article

GT Asia Series prepares for maiden endurance event at Sepang

Next article

Craft-Bamboo Racing looking to take back championship lead in Shanghai

Craft-Bamboo Racing looking to take back championship lead in Shanghai
Load comments