Vanthoor returns to defend Macau GT World Cup title

Laurens Vanthoor will return to defend his FIA GT World Cup title in next month's race on the streets of Macau with the Craft Bamboo Porsche squad.

Vanthoor returns to defend Macau GT World Cup title

The Belgian driver is one of eight former winners of keynote races at Macau on a 20-strong entry list split between seven manufacturers. 

Vanthoor and Darryl O'Young, winners of the GT Cup in 2016 and 2008 respectively, are the last of the former Macau victors to be confirmed with the publication of the official entry list. 

The Belgian, who has switched to Porsche from Audi for this year, and the inaugural Macau GT Cup winner will race Porsche 911 GT3-Rs for the factory-assisted Craft Bamboo Racing team. 

They join former Macau champions Edoardo Mortara, who has a total of five big wins across the F3 GP and the GT Cup, Lucas di Grassi, Felix Rosenqivst, Daniel Juncadella, Augusto Farfus and Maro Engel on the entry for the third running of the event since it gained FIA world status in 2015.

Two-time Le Mans 24 Hours winner Romain Dumas will also race a Porsche for the HubAuto Racing squad, joined by Japanese veteran Hiroki Yoshimoto.

Lamborghini is returning to the event with the FFF Racing team, with factory driver Mirko Bortolotti racing a solo Huracan GT3. 

A 12-lap qualifying race on Saturday will set the grid for the FIA GT World Cup, which will run over 18 laps ahead of the Formula 3 Grand Prix on Sunday

The FIA GT World Cup manufacturers' title will go to the builder of the car driven by the winning driver. 


FIA GT World Cup entry list:

Team (Car)Drivers
Audi Sport Team WRT (Audi)

 Robin Frijns

 Nico Muller

FFF Racing Team (Lamborghini)  Mirko Bortolotti
BMW Team Schnitzer (BMW)   Augusto Farfus 
Aust Motorsport (Audi)   Markus Pommer 
Mercedes-AMG Team Driving Academy (Mercedes) 

 Edoardo Mortara

 Dani Juncadella 

Scuderia Corsa (Ferrari)   Felix Rosenqvist
ROWE Racing (BMW)   Tom Blomqvist 
Mercedes-AMG Team GruppeM Racing (Mercedes)

 Raffaele Marciello

 Maro Engel

Craft Bamboo Racing (Porsche)

 Laurens Vanthoor

 Darryl O'Young

Team AAI (BMW)

 Marco Wittmann

 Chaz Mostert

HCB-Rutronik Racing (Audi)

 Lucas di Grassi

 Fabian Plentz

HubAuto Racing (Porsche)

 Hiroki Yoshimoto

 Romain Dumas

Honda Motor Co. (Honda)  Renger van der Zande
DTM stars set for Macau GT World Cup assault

Previous article

DTM stars set for Macau GT World Cup assault

Next article

Rosberg involved in family team's GT expansion

Rosberg involved in family team's GT expansion
Load comments

About this article

Series GT
Event FIA GT World Cup: Macau
Location Circuito da Guia
Author Gary Watkins