Formula 1
02 Jul
05 Jul
Event finished
Styrian GP
09 Jul
12 Jul
FP1 in
4 days
17 Jul
19 Jul
FP1 in
11 days
Andalusian GP
24 Jul
26 Jul
Next event in
18 days
Formula E
Berlin ePrix I
05 Aug
05 Aug
Next event in
30 days
Berlin ePrix II
06 Aug
06 Aug
Next event in
31 days
28 Jun
28 Jun
Event finished
05 Jul
05 Jul
Race in
01 Hours
45 Minutes
13 Seconds
10 Jul
12 Jul
Next event in
4 days
13 Aug
15 Aug
Next event in
38 days
19 Nov
21 Nov
Next event in
136 days
26 Jun
28 Jun
Event finished
17 Jul
19 Jul
Next event in
11 days

Laguna Seca IMSA: WTR Cadillac beats Acuras to pole

Laguna Seca IMSA: WTR Cadillac beats Acuras to pole
Sep 8, 2018, 9:03 PM

Jordan Taylor drove the Wayne Taylor Racing Cadillac DPi-V.R to a scorching pole position for the penultimate round of the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship at Laguna Seca.

Taylor set a new lap record with a 1min16.181 lap of the 2.238-mile WeatherTech Raceway, beating the Acura Team Penske ARX-05s of Dane Cameron and Helio Castroneves by 0.395 and 0.481sec respectively.

Pipo Derani was more than half a second off top spot in the faster of the two ESM Nissans, while Colin Braun was quickest of the LMP2 cars, fifth in the CORE autosport Oreca.

Fastest Mazda honors went to Jonathan Bomarito in sixth, while Eric Curran outpaced teammate Joao Barbosa to claim ninth for Action Express Racing.

Oliver Gavin took GT Le Mans pole for Corvette Racing with a 1min22.700sec lap as Dirk Mueller came up just 0.087sec short in the #66 Ford GT.

Their respective teammates Jan Magnussen and Ryan Briscoe will line up behind them for tomorrow’s race, the top quartet having been covered by just 0.15sec.

Alexander Sims did a fine job to slot his BMW M8 into fifth, just a quarter second off top spot, and ahead of both Porsche 911 RSRs.

Katherine Legge took her first ever pole position in IMSA with a 1min24.456sec to outqualify the drivers she is battling for the GT Daytona title, Bryan Sellers and Madison Snow.

Legge’s Meyer Shank Racing Acura NSX lapped 0.139sec faster than Snow’s Paul Miller Racing Lamborghini Huracan, and 0.188sec ahead of Jeroen Bleekemolen in the Riley Mercedes AMG GT.

Pat Long’s Wright Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3 R made it four marques in the top four positions, but was surprisingly four-tenths off Legge’s pace. Patrick Lindsey’s Park Place Motorsports Porsche was fifth, ahead of the two Lexus RC Fs and the Turner Motorsport BMW M6.

Laguna Seca, IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship qualifying

Pos. Num Driver Class Chassis Time Gap
1 10 United States Jordan Taylor
Netherlands Renger van der Zande
P Cadillac DPi 1'16.181  
2 6 Colombia Juan Pablo Montoya
United States Dane Cameron
P Acura DPi 1'16.576 0.395
3 7 Brazil Helio Castroneves
United States Ricky Taylor
P Acura DPi 1'16.662 0.481
4 22 Brazil Pipo Derani
United States Johannes van Overbeek
P Nissan DPi 1'16.766 0.585
5 54 United States Jon Bennett
United States Colin Braun
P ORECA LMP2 1'16.774 0.593
6 55 United Kingdom Harry Tincknell
United States Jonathan Bomarito
P Mazda DPi 1'16.793 0.612
7 85 Switzerland Simon Trummer
United States Robert Alon
P ORECA LMP2 1'16.989 0.808
8 77 United Kingdom Oliver Jarvis
United States Tristan Nunez
P Mazda DPi 1'17.249 1.068
9 31 United States Eric Curran
Brazil Felipe Nasr
P Cadillac DPi 1'17.415 1.234
10 52 Colombia Gustavo Yacaman
Colombia Sebastian Saavedra
P ORECA LMP2 1'17.485 1.304
11 5 Portugal Filipe Albuquerque
Portugal Joao Barbosa
P Cadillac DPi 1'17.525 1.344
12 2 United States Scott Sharp
United Kingdom Ryan Dalziel
P Nissan DPi 1'17.679 1.498
13 99 Canada Mikhail Goikhberg
South Africa Stephen Simpson
P ORECA LMP2 1'18.067 1.886
14 4 United Kingdom Oliver Gavin
United States Tommy Milner
GTLM Corvette C7.R 1'22.700 6.519
15 66 United States Joey Hand
Germany Dirk Muller
GTLM Ford GT 1'22.787 6.606
16 3 Denmark Jan Magnussen
Spain Antonio Garcia
GTLM Corvette C7.R 1'22.806 6.625
17 67 Australia Ryan Briscoe
United Kingdom Richard Westbrook
GTLM Ford GT 1'22.850 6.669
18 25 United States Connor de Phillippi
United Kingdom Alexander Sims
GTLM BMW M8 GTE 1'22.972 6.791
19 911 United Kingdom Nick Tandy
France Patrick Pilet
GTLM Porsche 911 RSR 1'22.990 6.809
20 912 New Zealand Earl Bamber
Belgium Laurens Vanthoor
GTLM Porsche 911 RSR 1'23.140 6.959
21 24 United States John Edwards
Finland Jesse Krohn
GTLM BMW M8 GTE 1'23.527 7.346
22 86 Portugal Alvaro Parente
United Kingdom Katherine Legge
GTD Acura NSX GT3 1'24.456 8.275
23 48 United States Bryan Sellers
United States Madison Snow
GTD Lamborghini Huracan GT3 1'24.595 8.414
24 33 Netherlands Jeroen Bleekemolen
United States Ben Keating
GTD Mercedes-AMG GT3 1'24.644 8.463
25 58 United States Patrick Long
Denmark Christina Nielsen
GTD Porsche 911 GT3 R 1'24.871 8.690
26 73 Germany Jörg Bergmeister
United States Patrick Lindsey
GTD Porsche 911 GT3 R 1'24.904 8.723
27 14 Canada Kyle Marcelli
Austria Dominik Baumann
GTD Lexus RC F GT3 1'25.010 8.829
28 96 United States Bill Auberlen
United States Robby Foley
GTD BMW M6 GT3 1'25.034 8.853
29 15 Denmark David Heinemeier Hansson
United Kingdom Jack Hawksworth
GTD Lexus RC F GT3 1'25.170 8.989
30 63 United States Cooper MacNeil
United States Gunnar Jeannette
GTD Ferrari 488 GT3 1'25.404 9.223
31 93 United States Justin Marks
United States Lawson Aschenbach
GTD Acura NSX GT3 1'25.629 9.448
32 64 United States Townsend Bell
United States Frankie Montecalvo
GTD Ferrari 488 GT3 1'26.107 9.926
33 44 United States Andy Lally
United States John Potter
GTD Audi R8 LMS GT3 1'26.411 10.230
34 51 Francesco Piovanetti
Ozz Negri
GTD Ferrari 488 GT3 1'27.731 11.550
Next article
Laguna Seca IMSA: Van der Zande leads FP3, Porsche 1-2 in GTLM

Previous article

Laguna Seca IMSA: Van der Zande leads FP3, Porsche 1-2 in GTLM

Next article

Laguna Seca IMSA: Tincknell puts Mazda on top in warm-up

Laguna Seca IMSA: Tincknell puts Mazda on top in warm-up
Load comments

About this article

Series IMSA
Event Laguna Seca
Drivers Jordan Taylor
Teams Wayne Taylor Racing
Author David Malsher-Lopez