IndyCar has “set precedent” with controversial Rahal penalty

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s president Piers Phillips believes IndyCar’s race stewards are wrong to have penalized Graham Rahal for blocking Scott Dixon on the last lap of the Grand Prix of Long Beach and that it “sets a precedent” for how they call races in future.

IndyCar has “set precedent” with controversial Rahal penalty

Chip Ganassi Racing's Dixon was applying pressure to Rahal as they started the last lap fighting for third place. Once the RLLR driver used up his last push-to-pass boost along the front straight, he was vulnerable to attack from the reigning champion on the back straight, between Turns 8 and 9.

Rahal, who was struggling with his front tires, locked up his right-front as he slowed for the entry to the right-hand Turn 8, but kept the car under control, and moved to the right as soon as he was onto the back straight. This was to force Dixon to at least go the long way around him into Turn 9.

However, Dixon’s tidier line through Turn 8 had allowed him to gain on Rahal and he moved simultaneously with him to the right-side of the track. Dixon’s better exit speed and push-to-pass boost gave him additional momentum, and the front wing of the Ganassi car made contact with the rear tire of the RLLR machine, which hurt his momentum.

Rahal then moved to the middle of the track down the back straight and held on through the final turns to cross the line in third. However, Race Control – run by Kyle Novak, Max Papis and Arie Luyendyk – considered Rahal’s defensive move a reactionary rather than anticipatory block.

Phillips, who switched from Schmidt Peterson Motorsports to become president of RLLR last winter, told Motorsport.com: “It was defense but he’s entitled to do that. I disagree with the stewards.

“If you look at the on-board, Graham comes out and hits the outside curb, and instantly moves right to defend. In my opinion, it was not in reaction to Dixon’s move.

“But unfortunately myself, Ricardo [Nault, Rahal’s race engineer], Bob [Rahal] have been in to the stewards and said our bit and they’re not overturning their decision. So I suppose we’ll just have to take our medicine and wait for things to turn around the other way.

“But I think they’ve set a precedent now. There’s going to be a lot of people looking at every defensive move and they’ll have to be consistent. It’s disappointing. And what I’m afraid of is that it will intimidate drivers into not racing each other.

“This isn’t supposed to be ‘after you, Claude’. This is racing, and a good defense is as important a tool for a driver to have in his skillset as a good attack. And I thought Graham played it absolutely right. He moved in anticipation of Dixon making a move. He couldn’t have moved to the right any sooner after exiting Turn 8. It just so happened that Scott was choosing to go the same way.

“Graham knew he’d lost a bit of momentum, he knew the threat, so the very least he was going to do was make Scott go the long way around. I don’t understand why [the stewards] called it the way they did.”

Rahal himself said: “I moved right as quick as I could out of the corner and then I gave him a lane. By the rules you’re allowed to make your move, which I did on the exit of the corner. That was it.

“I’m not upset about it. We had a good day. Our car wasn’t great today, but it was decent and the Total Oil team pushed hard. That’s all we can say. Did I block? Yes, I blocked; you’re allowed to block in this series. You’re allowed to make a move; I made a move. That’s allowed.

“I didn’t go back to the left; there’s a lane to the left. He had overtake [push-to-pass boost], I didn’t. If he wanted to go, he could go.

“At the end of the day, [we finished] P4. Do we deserve P3? Probably, but you know what? It was a good day and good points for us. We haven’t had a lot of luck this season, so I’ll just take it as it is and move on."

Bobby Rahal commented: “It’s tough because the definition… What’s a move? What’s this, what’s that? I think it was a bad decision but that’s a personal opinion.

“I think it’s hard because when you put yourself in those kinds of situations, when you’re making judgements, you really put yourself between a rock and a hard place, because what are you gonna do next time? What constitutes [a block]? How do you define it? That’s the problem.

“If you’re doing this [Rahal simulated a driver weaving from side-to-side] then that’s blocking, and if Dixon was right there and Graham was squeezing him towards the fence then I would agree totally [with the penalty]. But it wasn’t that way, and now it puts everyone in a tenuous place.

“We need a definition [of a block], because until they really know what that is, it’s going to go on.”

shares
comments
Rossi dedicates Long Beach win to deceased grandfather

Previous article

Rossi dedicates Long Beach win to deceased grandfather

Next article

Arrow Schmidt Peterson race report, Round 4 – Long Beach

Arrow Schmidt Peterson race report, Round 4 – Long Beach
Load comments
Remembering Dan Wheldon and his last and most amazing win Prime

Remembering Dan Wheldon and his last and most amazing win

Saturday, Oct. 16th, marks the 10th anniversary Dan Wheldon’s death. David Malsher-Lopez pays tribute, then asks Wheldon’s race engineer from 2011, Todd Malloy, to recall that magical second victory at the Indianapolis 500.

IndyCar
Oct 16, 2021
Have Harvey and RLL formed IndyCar’s next winning match-up? Prime

Have Harvey and RLL formed IndyCar’s next winning match-up?

Jack Harvey’s move to Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing sparked plenty of debate, but their combined strength could prove golden, says David Malsher-Lopez.

IndyCar
Oct 15, 2021
Why Kyle Kirkwood is America's new IndyCar ace-in-waiting Prime

Why Kyle Kirkwood is America's new IndyCar ace-in-waiting

Kyle Kirkwood, the record-setting junior formula driver, sealed the Indy Lights championship last weekend. But despite an absurdly strong résumé and scholarship money, his next move is far from clear. By David Malsher-Lopez.

IndyCar
Oct 6, 2021
2021 IndyCar title is just the start for Ganassi's newest star Prime

2021 IndyCar title is just the start for Ganassi's newest star

Alex Palou has captured Chip Ganassi Racing's 14th IndyCar drivers' championship, and in truly stellar manner. David Malsher-Lopez explains what made the Palou-Ganassi combo so potent so soon.

IndyCar
Sep 28, 2021
Why Grosjean's oval commitment shows he's serious about IndyCar Prime

Why Grosjean's oval commitment shows he's serious about IndyCar

One of motorsport’s worst-kept secrets now out in the open, and Romain Grosjean has been confirmed as an Andretti Autosport IndyCar driver in 2022. It marks a remarkable turnaround after the abrupt end to his Formula 1 career, and is a firm indication of his commitment to challenge for the IndyCar Series title  

IndyCar
Sep 24, 2021
IndyCar’s longest silly-season is still at fever pitch Prime

IndyCar’s longest silly-season is still at fever pitch

The 2021 IndyCar silly season is one of the silliest of all, but it’s satisfying to see so many talented drivers in play – including Callum Ilott. David Malsher-Lopez reports.

IndyCar
Sep 11, 2021
IndyCar young guns are great, but the elders aren’t done yet Prime

IndyCar young guns are great, but the elders aren’t done yet

The ace 20-somethings in IndyCar have risen to become title contenders, but the best of the series veterans are digging deep and responding – and will continue to do so over the next couple of years, says David Malsher-Lopez.

IndyCar
Aug 20, 2021
The F1 champion who became an Indy king in his second career Prime

The F1 champion who became an Indy king in his second career

Emerson Fittipaldi’s decision to go racing with his brother led to him falling out of F1, but he bloomed again on the IndyCar scene. NIGEL ROEBUCK considers a career of two halves

Formula 1
Jul 31, 2021