Formula 1 MotoGP
07 Aug
Event finished
Austrian GP
14 Aug
FP1 in
3 days
Formula E
Berlin ePrix V
12 Aug
FP1 in
1 day
08 Aug
Event finished
17 Jul
Event finished
21 Aug
Next event in
10 days
19 Nov
Next event in
100 days
12 Jul
Event finished
15 Aug
Practice 1 in
4 days

Lowes, Fores join Rea for Kawasaki Suzuka 8h defence

Lowes, Fores join Rea for Kawasaki Suzuka 8h defence
Mar 31, 2020, 7:45 AM

Alex Lowes and Xavi Fores will join Jonathan Rea for Kawasaki’s title defence in the Suzuka 8 Hours in 2020.

Rea, Leon Haslam and Toprak Razgatlioglu won the 2019 edition of the Suzuka 8 Hours, ending a barren run for Kawasaki stretching back to 1993.

However, with Haslam and Razgatlioglu moving to Honda and Yamaha respectively over the winter, Kawasaki has refreshed its line-up for the Japanese endurance classic.

While five-time World Superbike champion Rea will remain in Kawasaki’s Suzuka line-up for the third year running, he will have two new teammates in Lowes and Fores.

Lowes joined Kawasaki’s World Superbike team at the start of this year after a lengthy stint at Yamaha, which included three successive triumphs in the Suzuka race from 2016-18.

He leads the WSBK riders’ standings after a victory and a second place in the opening round of the championship in Australia, while his teammate Rea sits fourth after a crash in the first race of the weekend.

Fores, meanwhile, replaced Razgatlioglu at the Puccetti Kawasaki team in WSBK this year, and secured a best finish of 11th in the Phillip Island opener.

He is no stranger to the Suzuka 8 Hours either, having finished seventh in last year’s race aboard a HARC-Pro Honda shared with Dominique Aegerter and Ryo Mizuno.

The 2020 Suzuka 8 Hours is currently scheduled for July 19.

Syahrin braced for "crazy" WTCR/EWC double-header

Previous article

Syahrin braced for "crazy" WTCR/EWC double-header

Next article

No factory Yamaha team in this year's Suzuka 8 Hours

No factory Yamaha team in this year's Suzuka 8 Hours
Load comments

About this article

Series FIM Endurance
Drivers Xavi Fores , Alex Lowes , Jonathan Rea
Teams Kawasaki Racing
Author Rachit Thukral