Bezzecchi joins VR46 Moto2 team for 2020

Valentino Rossi protege Marco Bezzecchi will move across to join his mentor's VR46 team for the 2020 Moto2 season alongside Luca Marini.

Bezzecchi joins VR46 Moto2 team for 2020

Bezzecchi moved up to the intermediate class this year after challenging for Moto3 title honours in 2018, but has endured a tough rookie campaign aboard the Tech 3 KTM, managing only two points finishes in 13 races.

Next year, he will partner Rossi's half-brother Marini aboard one of the Sky-backed VR46 team's Kalex machines, replacing Gresini-bound Nicolo Bulega.

"I am really happy about this great opportunity: I came into the world championship thanks to the support of the Academy and today to be able to race with this team makes me very proud," commented Bezzecchi.

"This second season in Moto2 will be a challenge and I will give the maximum to repay the faith of all my supporters."

Marco Bezzecchi, Tech 3

Marco Bezzecchi, Tech 3

Photo by: Gold and Goose / LAT Images

VR46 has also firmed up its roster for the 2020 Moto3 season, with Andrea Migno returning to the team alongside Celestino Vietti.

Migno spent three seasons with the squad in 2015-17, before switching to the Angel Nieto squad for 2018 and WorldWideRace (formerly Bester Capital Dubai) this season.

He replaces Dennis Foggia, who has joined the Leopard squad for 2020 along with Migno's current WWR teammate Jaume Masia.

Elsewhere on the Moto2 grid, it has been announced that Bo Bendsneyder will remain with the RW Racing squad for a second season. The Dutch rider, who lies 25th in the current standings, partners the previously-announced Jesko Raffin at the team.

Read Also:

2020 Moto2 grid so far:

Team Riders
Marc VDS

Spain Alex Marquez

United Kingdom Sam Lowes

Pons Racing

Italy Lorenzo Baldassarri

Spain Augusto Fernandez

Ajo Motorsport

Spain Iker Lecuona

Spain Jorge Martin

Speed Up

Spain Jorge Navarro

Italy Fabio Di Giannantonio

Intact GP

Switzerland Tom Luthi

Germany Marcel Schrotter

SAG Racing

Australia Remy Gardner

Japan Tetsuta Nagashima

Petronas Sprinta

Spain Xavi Vierge

Malaysia Hafizh Syahrin


Italy Enea Bastianini

Italy Lorenzo Dalla Porta

Team VR46

Italy Luca Marini

Italy Marco Bezzecchi

Angel Nieto Team

Spain Aron Canet


American Racing

Spain Marcos Ramirez


RW Racing

Switzerland Jesko Raffin

Netherlands Bo Bendsneyder

Gresini Racing

Italy Nicolo Bulega


Misano Moto3: Suzuki takes maiden win, drama for Canet
Previous article

Misano Moto3: Suzuki takes maiden win, drama for Canet

Next article

Aragon Moto3: Canet fights back with dominant win

Aragon Moto3: Canet fights back with dominant win