Barcelona Moto3: Ramirez wins wild, crash-filled race

Leopard Racing's Marcos Ramirez won a dramatic Moto3 race in Barcelona as several riders - including championship contenders Lorenzo Dalla Porta and Jaume Masia - retired from victory contention.

Barcelona Moto3: Ramirez wins wild, crash-filled race

Dalla Porta was leading in the early stages when his Leopard Honda bike suffered an engine failure, with Tony Arbolino (VNE Snipers) later also retiring from the lead with an apparent mechanical problem.

Bester Capital Dubai rider Masia meanwhile crashed at Turn 1 while being squeezed by Darryn Binder (CIP), the Spaniard retiring for the third time this season.

Binder later also retired from podium contention, having been taken out by pole-sitter Gabriel Rodrigo (Gresini) at Turn 10 on the penultimate lap.

That incident was followed by Honda Team Asia's Kaito Toba leading into the final lap, with Aron Canet and Alonso Lopez battling behind him.

Toba held the lead after the main straight but the two local riders were all over him at Turn 10 and Toba cracked under the pressure, sliding off track.

In the mayhem, Ramirez moved ahead of both Canet and Lopez, and he completed the remaining four corners of the race to score his first win of the season.

Canet finished second as Sky VR46 rookie Celestino Vietti picked off Lopez at the final turn to snatch the final podium position.

Vietti's teammate Dennis Foggia was fifth ahead of front row starter Ai Ogura (Honda Team Asia) with Romano Fenati (VNE Snipers) taking his best finish since his Moto3 return in seventh.

The top 10 was completed by Ayumu Sasaki (Petronas Sprinta), EG0,0 wildcard Ryusei Yamanaka and Pruestl's Jakub Kornfeil.

Title contender Niccolo Antonelli fell out of podium contention after running wide at Turn 1, the Italian settling for 11th, while John McPhee miraculously avoided a highside at Turn 10 of the final lap. While he managed to hang on to his bike, he dropped from the lead pack to 13th.

The race also saw a dramatic multi-bike crash caused by Can Oncu losing control of his bike at Turn 4.

He first wiped out Albert Arenas and then collected other riders, with Sergio Garcia, Raul Fernandez, Vicente Perez and Filip Salac all hitting the deck simultaneously.

Tatsuki Suzuki fell on the opening lap at Turn 10 with Andrea Migno and Makar Yurchenko also having incidents during the race.

With his second-place finish, Canet's lead is up to 23 points over Dalla Porta in the championship.

Cla Rider Bike Laps Gap
1 Spain Marcos Ramirez
Honda 21
2 Spain Arón Canet
KTM 21 0.119
3 Italy Celestino Vietti Ramus
KTM 21 0.146
4 Spain Alonso López
Honda 21 0.235
5 Italy Dennis Foggia
KTM 21 0.947
6 Japan Ai Ogura
Honda 21 1.008
7 Italy Romano Fenati
Honda 21 1.068
8 Japan Ayumu Sasaki
Honda 21 1.358
9 Ryusei Yamanaka
Honda 21 1.984
10 Czech Republic Jakub Kornfeil
KTM 21 2.472
11 Italy Niccolo Antonelli
Honda 21 2.729
12 Carlos Tatay
KTM 21 2.980
13 United Kingdom John McPhee
Honda 21 3.264
14 United Kingdom Tom Booth-Amos
KTM 21 11.120
15 South Africa Darryn Binder
KTM 21 18.467
16 Japan Kazuki Masaki
KTM 21 21.845
17 Italy Riccardo Rossi
Honda 21 39.997
18 Spain Vicente Pérez
KTM 21 54.306
19 Japan Tatsuki Suzuki
Honda 21 1'00.726
Japan Kaito Toba
Honda 20 1 Lap
Argentina Gabriel Rodrigo
Honda 19 2 Laps
Kazakhstan Makar Yurchenko
KTM 18 3 Laps
Spain Jaume Masia
KTM 13 8 Laps
Italy Tony Arbolino
Honda 12 9 Laps
Czech Republic Filip Salač
KTM 9 12 Laps
Italy Andrea Migno
KTM 5 16 Laps
Turkey Can Öncü
KTM 5 16 Laps
Spain Raúl Fernández
KTM 4 17 Laps
Spain Sergio García
Honda 4 17 Laps
Spain Albert Arenas
KTM 4 17 Laps
Italy Lorenzo Dalla Porta
Honda 3 18 Laps
Mugello Moto3: Arbolino edges Dalla Porta for maiden win
Previous article

Mugello Moto3: Arbolino edges Dalla Porta for maiden win

Next article

Assen Moto3: Arbolino scores win with last-lap move

Assen Moto3: Arbolino scores win with last-lap move