Sachsenring Moto3: Mir beats Fenati to stretch points lead

Joan Mir extended his championship lead by winning the Moto3 race at the Sachsenring, out-duelling Romano Fenati and Marcos Ramirez on the final lap.

Sachsenring Moto3: Mir beats Fenati to stretch points lead

Starting from second, Mir took the lead at Turn 1, and a leading group of five riders also including Fenati, Ramirez, Nicolo Bulega and Tony Arbolino soon formed.

The first eight laps saw Mir, Fenati and Ramirez constantly rotate the top three positions among themselves before the championship leader managed to keep the lead for several laps.

Fenati soon restarted the battle and took the lead, but Mir managed to fight back every time the Italian found a way past.

Still, the Italian started the final lap in the lead and, even though he kept his advantage at the first turn and even pulled a small gap out over Mir and Ramirez.

But Leopard Racing rider Mir made his move at the penultimate corner to seal his fifth win in nine races, beating Fenati to the line by 0.121s.

Ramirez completed the podium less than a tenth further back, the Platinum Bay KTM rider celebrating his maiden top three finish.

Sky Racing VR46's Bulega took fourth, as he and Arbolino lost ground towards the end of the race. The latter failed to finish the race after a highside crash at Turn 9.

Philipp Oettl (Schedl GP) distanced himself from the second group to secure fifth, with Enea Bastianini (Estrella Galicia) taking sixth.

Mir's Leopard teammate Livio Loi was seventh, ahead of KTM Ajo's Bo Bendsneyder, SIC58 Squadra Corse's Tatsuki Suzuki and the second Platinum Bay bike of Darryn Binder.

Pole-sitter Aron Canet (Estrella Galicia) was unable to keep up with the leaders and soon dropped outside of the top 10 before crashing at Turn 11.

British duo John McPhee and Danny Kent, standing in for injured KTM rider Niccolo Antonelli, both crashed out, as did Gabriel Rodrigo.

Race results:

1 36 spain Joan Mir  Honda 39'34.775
2 5 italy Romano Fenati  Honda 0.121
3 42 spain Marcos Ramírez  KTM 0.218
4 8 italy Nicolo Bulega  KTM 5.074
5 65 germany Philipp Ottl  KTM 13.073
6 33 italy Enea Bastianini  Honda 13.650
7 11 belgium Livio Loi  Honda 14.318
8 64 netherlands Bo Bendsneyder  KTM 14.466
9 24 japan Tatsuki Suzuki  Honda 14.583
10 40 south_africa Darryn Binder  KTM 14.666
11 21 italy Fabio Di Giannantonio  Honda 15.438
12 58 spain Juan Francisco Guevara KTM 16.146
13 7 malaysia Adam Norrodin  Honda 16.234
14 95 france Jules Danilo  Honda 16.324
15 12 italy Marco Bezzecchi  Mahindra 17.603
16 16 italy Andrea Migno  KTM 17.752
17 71 japan Ayumu Sasaki  Honda 17.845
18 84 czech_republic Jakub Kornfeil  Peugeot 17.863
19 48 italy Lorenzo Dalla Porta  Mahindra 40.054
20 96 italy Manuel Pagliani  Mahindra 40.254
21 27 japan Kaito Toba  Honda 40.521
22 31 spain  Raul Fernandez  Mahindra 1'09.377
23 41 thailand Nakarin Atiratphuvapat Honda 1'09.466
24 77 germany  Tim Georgi  KTM 1'09.590
25 4 finland Patrik Pulkkinen  Peugeot 1'13.004
26 6 spain Maria Herrera  KTM 2 laps
Ret 19 spain Gabriel Rodrigo  KTM 1 lap
Ret  14 italy Tony Arbolino  Honda 8 laps
Ret  44 spain Aron Canet  Honda 12 laps
Ret  52 united_kingdom Danny Kent  KTM 12 laps
Ret  17 united_kingdom John McPhee  Honda 21 laps
Analysis: Why Mahindra exited Moto3
Previous article

Analysis: Why Mahindra exited Moto3

Next article

Sachsenring Moto3: Mahindra returns to points with Bezzecchi

Sachsenring Moto3: Mahindra returns to points with Bezzecchi
Load comments