05 Mar
08 Mar
FP1 in
17 days
Thailand GP
19 Mar
22 Mar
FP1 in
31 days
Americas GP
02 Apr
05 Apr
Next event in
44 days
Argentinian GP
16 Apr
19 Apr
Next event in
58 days
Spanish GP
30 Apr
03 May
Next event in
72 days
14 May
17 May
Next event in
86 days
Italian GP
28 May
31 May
Next event in
100 days
Catalan GP
04 Jun
07 Jun
Next event in
107 days
18 Jun
21 Jun
Next event in
121 days
25 Jun
28 Jun
Next event in
128 days
Finnish GP
09 Jul
12 Jul
Next event in
142 days
06 Aug
09 Aug
Next event in
170 days
Austrian GP
13 Aug
16 Aug
Next event in
177 days
British GP
27 Aug
30 Aug
Next event in
191 days
San Marino GP
10 Sep
13 Sep
Next event in
205 days
01 Oct
04 Oct
Next event in
226 days
Japanese GP
15 Oct
18 Oct
Next event in
240 days
Australian GP
23 Oct
25 Oct
Next event in
248 days
Malaysian GP
29 Oct
01 Nov
Next event in
254 days
Valencia GP
12 Nov
15 Nov
Next event in
268 days

Valencia MotoGP: Marquez wins to seal teams' title for Honda

Valencia MotoGP: Marquez wins to seal teams' title for Honda
Nov 17, 2019, 1:57 PM

Marc Marquez capped of his sixth title-winning MotoGP season with a dominant victory in the Valencia Grand Prix to secure the teams’ title for the Repsol Honda squad.

Petronas SRT Yamaha’s Fabio Quartararo led for the first seven laps before being passed by a recovering Marquez, and was unable to mount a challenge to retake the position over the remaining tours.

Poleman Quartararo ran side by side with Pramac’s Jack Miller on the run to the first corner at the start, but had to concede the lead to the rocketship Ducati.

He quickly disposed of Miller after a couple of corners and began to build up a small lead, while Marquez had to fight through from sixth after getting hung out at the first turn from second on the grid.

Quartararo held a margin of seventh tenths by the third lap, with Marquez soon up to second after snatching the place from Miller at the final corner at the end of the previous tour.

The Honda rider slashed Quartararo’s lead by a couple of tenths over the next three laps, and made his decisive move on the eighth tour at the Turn 11 left-hander – squeezing Quartararo out to the edge of the circuit on the exit.

Marquez immediately got his lead up to six tenths, though Quartararo was able to ensure this remained stagnant for a handful of laps.

However, with nine laps to go, Marquez moved a second out of reach for the first time and would ease across the line for his 12th win of the year by over 1.5s.

Read Also:

Quartararo came under some threat from Miller after he was passed by Marquez on lap eight, but was able to quash the Pramac rider’s challenge and ended a sensational rookie season with his seventh podium.

Miller secured the final place on the podium ahead of Suzuki's Alex Rins and Ducati's Andrea Dovizioso.

Maverick Vinales’s expected challenge for the victory never materialised, and he was resigned to sixth on the works Yamaha ahead of Joan Mir (Suzuki), team-mate Valentino Rossi, Aprilia’s Aleix Espargaro and his KTM-mounted brother Pol.

Jorge Lorenzo ended his career in MotoGP with his best result of the year since June’s Italian GP in 13th.

Fellow Honda rider’s Cal Crutchlow and Johann Zarco of LCR failed to see the chequered flag after crashes, with the latter walking away from a horrifying incident.

Zarco lost the front of his RC213V going through Turn 6, with Tech3 debutant Iker Lecuona doing the same out of 15th place just seconds later.

As Zarco got to his feet he was struck by the KTM. Both he and Lecuona appeared to escape uninjured.

Ducati’s Danilo Petrucci crashed at the same turn just moments before, while SRT’s Franco Morbidelli, Andrea Iannone (Aprilia) and Ducati wildcard Michele Pirro also failed to finish.

Race results

Cla # Rider Bike Laps Time km/h
1 93 Spain Marc Marquez
Honda 27 41'21.469 156.8
2 20 France Fabio Quartararo
Yamaha 27 41'22.495 156.8
3 43 Australia Jack Miller
Ducati 27 41'23.878 156.7
4 4 Italy Andrea Dovizioso
Ducati 27 41'24.795 156.6
5 42 Spain Alex Rins
Suzuki 27 41'24.977 156.6
6 12 Spain Maverick Viñales
Yamaha 27 41'30.298 156.3
7 36 Spain Joan Mir
Suzuki 27 41'32.091 156.2
8 46 Italy Valentino Rossi
Yamaha 27 41'44.461 155.4
9 41 Spain Aleix Espargaro
Aprilia 27 41'54.173 154.8
10 44 Spain Pol Espargaro
KTM 27 41'54.442 154.8
11 53 Spain Tito Rabat
Ducati 27 42'04.264 154.2
12 82 Finland Mika Kallio
KTM 27 42'07.201 154.0
13 99 Spain Jorge Lorenzo
Honda 27 42'12.513 153.7
14 17 Czech Republic Karel Abraham
Ducati 27 42'26.340 152.8
15 55 Malaysia Hafizh Syahrin
KTM 27 42'37.956 152.1
29 Italy Andrea Iannone
Aprilia 26 40'20.804 154.8
21 Italy Franco Morbidelli
Yamaha 18 27'39.166 156.4
9 Italy Danilo Petrucci
Ducati 13 20'04.178 155.6
5 France Johann Zarco
Honda 13 20'08.462 155.1
27 Spain Iker Lecuona
KTM 13 20'15.159 154.2
35 United Kingdom Cal Crutchlow
Honda 10 15'26.863 155.5
51 Italy Michele Pirro
Ducati 8 12'47.135 150.3
Next article
Valencia MotoGP - the race as it happened

Previous article

Valencia MotoGP - the race as it happened

Next article

Espargaro: Zarco doesn't deserve Repsol Honda seat

Espargaro: Zarco doesn't deserve Repsol Honda seat
Load comments

About this article

Series MotoGP
Event Valencia GP
Sub-event Race
Author Lewis Duncan