11 Sep
Event finished
25 Sep
Event finished
09 Oct
Event finished
16 Oct
Event finished
23 Oct
Event finished
European GP
06 Nov
FP1 in
5 days
Valencia GP
13 Nov
Next event in
12 days

Misano MotoGP: Vinales becomes sixth different winner of 2020

Misano MotoGP: Vinales becomes sixth different winner of 2020

Maverick Vinales took first win of the 2020 MotoGP season after a late crash for long-time leader Francesco Bagnaia gifted the Yamaha rider victory in the Emilia Romagna Grand Prix.

Vinales struggled from pole position in the first Misano race last week owing to an incorrect tyre choice, but a change in approach to set-up in practice meant he was much stronger from the off on Sunday.

The Yamaha rider grabbed the lead from the fast-starting Pramac Ducati of Jack Miller into Turn 4 on the opening lap and opened up a gap of half a second.

Miller’s hopes of a podium quickly faded and he would drop out of the race on lap eight with an engine issue.

Bagnaia on the sister Pramac bike was the rider leading the chase on Vinales by lap two, with the Italian finding a way through on lap six at Turn 4 when the Yamaha rider ran wide. 

Using the power of the Ducati and the grip from his soft rear tyre, Bagnaia opened up a lead of over seven tenths, with that advantage growing to over a second a few laps later.

Behind, chaos ensued with KTM’s Brad Binder crashing at the Carro hairpin at Turn 14 on the second tour having just moved into the podium places. Moments earlier, Valentino Rossi (Yamaha) slid out of the top eight at Turn 4 and would eventually pull out.

At the front, Bagnaia’s gap held stable between 1.4s and 1.6s, with Vinales comfortably managing the gap behind to the chasing Pol Espargaro on the KTM and Petronas Yamaha man Fabio Quartararo. 

Though the gap had come down to 1.1s by the start of lap 21, Bagnaia still looked in control until he crashed going through the Turn 6 left-hander. 

This released Vinales into a commanding lead he would not relinquish through to the chequered flag to become the sixth different winner in 2020 and move right back into championship contention. 

The battle for second raged in the closing laps, as Espargaro’s soft rear tyre began to fade and Quartararo hounded him home.

Suzuki’s Joan Mir closed in on this pair having started from 11th and scythed up the inside of Quartararo on lap 23 at Turn 1 for third, before stealing second from Espargaro at Turn 4 on the following lap.

Quartararo followed him through at Turn 4, but was hit with a long-lap penalty on the final lap for exceeding track limits too many times.

The Petronas rider did not take the penalty loop and was hit with a three-second time penalty at the chequered flag, dropping him to fourth and promoting Espargaro to the podium.

Miguel Oliveira came through from 15th on his Tech 3 KTM to complete the top five ahead of LCR Honda's Takaaki Nakagami and Alex Marquez, who took his best result of the year on the works Honda in seventh.

Andrea Dovizioso holds a slender one point lead over Quartararo in the standings after finishing down in eighth, with just four points now covering the factory Ducati rider, Quartararo, Vinales and Mir.

San Marino GP winner Franco Morbidelli recovered from early contact after Aleix Espargaro crashed into him to finish ninth, with Danilo Petrucci (Ducati), Avintia's Johann Zarco, Alex Rins (Suzuki) and Aprilia's Bradley Smith claiming the final points.

Tech 3's Iker Lecuona crashed out of sixth in the latter stages, with Avintia's Tito Rabat also crashing and joining Rossi, Bagnaia, Miller, Binder and Aleix Espargaro on the sidelines.

Race results:

Cla # Rider Bike Gap
1 12 Spain Maverick Viñales
2 36 Spain Joan Mir
Suzuki 2.425
3 44 Spain Pol Espargaro
KTM 4.528
4 20 France Fabio Quartararo
Yamaha 6.419
5 88 Portugal Miguel Oliveira
KTM 7.368
6 30 Japan Takaaki Nakagami
Honda 11.139
7 73 Spain Alex Marquez
Honda 11.929
8 4 Italy Andrea Dovizioso
Ducati 13.113
9 21 Italy Franco Morbidelli
Yamaha 15.880
10 9 Italy Danilo Petrucci
Ducati 17.682
11 5 France Johann Zarco
Ducati 23.144
12 42 Spain Alex Rins
Suzuki 24.962
13 38 United Kingdom Bradley Smith
Aprilia 30.008
27 Spain Iker Lecuona
KTM 3 Laps
63 Italy Francesco Bagnaia
Ducati 7 Laps
46 Italy Valentino Rossi
Yamaha 12 Laps
53 Spain Tito Rabat
Ducati 15 Laps
43 Australia Jack Miller
Ducati 20 Laps
33 South Africa Brad Binder
KTM 24 Laps
41 Spain Aleix Espargaro
Rossi says Bagnaia riding Ducati MotoGP bike “in perfect way”

Previous article

Rossi says Bagnaia riding Ducati MotoGP bike “in perfect way”

Next article

Quartararo didn't get track limits warning before penalty

Quartararo didn't get track limits warning before penalty
Load comments

About this article

Series MotoGP
Event Emilia-Romagna GP
Sub-event Race
Drivers Maverick Viñales
Teams Yamaha Factory Racing
Author Lewis Duncan