Brett Moffitt tops Brandon Jones for Chicagoland Truck win

Brett Moffitt got this win the old fashioned way – he finished first.

Brett Moffitt tops Brandon Jones for Chicagoland Truck win
Race Winner Brett Moffitt, GMS Racing, Chevrolet
Race Winner Brett Moffitt, GMS Racing, Chevrolet
Race Winner Brett Moffitt, GMS Racing, Chevrolet
Race Winner Brett Moffitt, GMS Racing, Chevrolet
Race Winner Brett Moffitt, GMS Racing, Chevrolet
Kyle Busch, Kyle Busch Motorsports, Toyota Tundra Cessna leads Brett Moffitt, GMS Racing, Chevrolet Silverado

Moffitt held off Brandon Jones to win Friday night’s Camping World 225 at Chicagoland Speedway – his second Gander Outdoors NASCAR Truck Series win of the season but the first by being the first driver to take the checkered flag.

Moffitt picked up his first win of 2019 two weeks ago at Iowa even though he didn’t lead a single lap but race-winner Ross Chastain was disqualified, awarding the victory to the runner-up Moffitt.

“Man, we had a really good Chevy Silverado. Everyone at GMS Racing gave us a really truck,” Moffitt said after the race. “We didn’t find a sponsor (for this race) and it’s a shame but hopefully it will bring some awareness to our situation.

“I have to thank the Gallagher family, Maury and Spencer, for giving me this opportunity and with everyone on this this No. 24 team and the hard work they put in. It’s been a rough start to the year but hopefully we’re getting it rolling now.”

The win is the ninth of Moffitt’s career and second consecutive at Chicagoland for the reigning series champion.

Stewart Friesen ended up third, Harrison Burton was fourth and Austin Hill rounded out the top-five.

With 50 of 150 laps remaining in the race, Moffitt maintained a small lead over Friesen with Jones up to third. Hill was fourth and Burton fifth.

With 40 to go, the top three – Moffitt, Friesen and Jones – were separated by less than half a second and everyone still had to make one more pit stop to make it to the finish on fuel.

A final round of green-flag pit stops began with 32 laps to go as Tyler Ankrum, Crafton and Chastain were among the first to drop down to pit road. 

Once the cycle was completed on Lap 125, Moffitt held a more than 2-second lead over Jones. Friesen was third, Burton fourth and Hill fifth.

With less than 10 laps to go, Moffitt had stretched his lead over Jones to more than 3 seconds.

Stage 2 

Grant Enfinger held off a late charge from Jones this time to hang on to the Stage 2 victory. It was his fourth stage win of the season.

Moffitt ended up third, Burton fourth and Hill rounded out the top-five. 

Following the break between Stages 1 and 2, all of the lead-lap trucks elected to pit with Jones the first off pit road. On the restart on Lap 43, Jones was followed by Enfinger and Matt Crafton.

On Lap 44, Natalie Decker spun off Turn 4 after contact with Todd Gilliland to bring out another caution. The race returned to green on Lap 48 with Jones still in the lead.


With 23 laps remaining in the stage, Enfinger got back around Jones to reclaim the lead as Burton moved up to third.

After 55 laps, Enfinger maintained a small advantage over Jones. Burton was third, Friesen fourth and Hill ran fifth.

With five laps to go in the stage, Enfinger remained ahead of Jones as Moffitt moved up to the third position.

Stage 1

Jones got around Enfinger off Turn 4 of the final lap to claim the Stage 1 victory.

“We started off with good balance. I tried to conserve as much as I could, but he was just too good at the end,” Enfinger said of Jones.

Moffitt ended up third, Hill fourth and Ankrum rounded out the top-five.

Just after the race went green, smoke poured out of Ben Rhodes’ No. 99 Ford and he had to pull onto pit road. He eventually went to the garage with engine issues.

On Lap 5, Jordan Anderson spun off Turn 4 to bring out the first caution. The race returned to green on Lap 10 with pole-winner Hill still out front.

Enfinger finally got around Hill for the lead for good on Lap 12 as Jones moved up to second.

With 20 laps remaining in the first stage, Enfinger continued to lead the way followed by Jones and Hill.

After 20 laps, Enfinger maintained a small lead over Jones, who remained in striking distance for a chance to pass the leader.

On Lap 23, Sheldon Creed tagged the wall in Turn 2 while battling for fifth but the race remained under green.

With five laps to go in the stage, Enfinger continued to hold a solid lead over Jones with Hill in third. Johnny Sauter was reporting a possible engine issue.

Both Crafton (engine change) and Camden Murphy (unapproved adjustments) had to start the race from the rear of the field.

Cla # Driver Manufacturer Laps Time Laps Led
1 24 United States Brett Moffitt  Chevrolet 150   72
2 51 United States Brandon Jones  Toyota 150 3.950 13
3 52 United States Stewart Friesen  Chevrolet 150 4.950  
4 18 United States Harrison Burton  Toyota 150 14.060  
5 16 United States Austin Hill  Toyota 150 14.345 11
6 4 United States Todd Gilliland  Toyota 150 18.089  
7 45 United States Ross Chastain  Chevrolet 150 23.212  
8 88 United States Matt Crafton  Ford 150 23.321  
9 15 Anthony Alfredo  Toyota 150 28.105  
10 5 United States Dylan Lupton  Toyota 150 31.997  
11 2 United States Sheldon Creed  Chevrolet 149 1 lap 2
12 02 United States Tyler Dippel  Chevrolet 149 1 lap  
13 17 Tyler Ankrum  Toyota 149 1 lap  
14 54 United States Natalie Decker  Toyota 149 1 lap  
15 12 United States Gus Dean  Chevrolet 149 1 lap  
16 98 United States Grant Enfinger  Ford 148 2 laps 49
17 20 United States Spencer Boyd  Chevrolet 148 2 laps 1
18 13 United States Johnny Sauter  Ford 147 3 laps  
19 33 United States Josh Bilicki  Toyota 147 3 laps  
20 3 United States Jordan Anderson  Chevrolet 146 4 laps  
21 10 United States Jennifer Jo Cobb  Chevrolet 141 9 laps  
22 34 United States Jesse Iwuji  Chevrolet 138 12 laps  
23 8 United States Camden Murphy  Chevrolet 93 57 laps 2
24 56 United States Timmy Hill  Chevrolet 89 61 laps  
25 22 United States Austin Wayne Self  Chevrolet 88 62 laps  
26 32 Masson Massey  Chevrolet 82 68 laps  
27 44 United States Spencer Davis  Chevrolet 78 72 laps  
28 87 United States Joe Nemechek  Chevrolet 45 105 laps  
29 6 United States Norm Benning  Chevrolet 35 115 laps  
30 1 United States B.J. McLeod  Chevrolet 17 133 laps  
31   United States Joey Gase  Chevrolet 15 135 laps  
32 99 United States Ben Rhodes  Ford 1    
NASCAR's Todd Gilliland to compete at Goodwood Festival of Speed

Previous article

NASCAR's Todd Gilliland to compete at Goodwood Festival of Speed

Next article

Roundtable: Who will be the next first-time winner?

Roundtable: Who will be the next first-time winner?
Load comments

About this article

Series NASCAR Truck
Event Chicagoland
Author Jim Utter