Cole Custer cruises to Kentucky Xfinity win over Bell

Cole Custer continued his dream season in the NASCAR Xfinity Series, topping his top rival Christopher Bell at Kentucky Speedway.

Cole Custer cruises to Kentucky Xfinity win over Bell
Race Winner Cole Custer, Stewart-Haas Racing, Ford Mustang Haas Automation
Race Winner Cole Custer, Stewart-Haas Racing, Ford Mustang Haas Automation
Race Winner Cole Custer, Stewart-Haas Racing, Ford Mustang Haas Automation
Race Winner Cole Custer, Stewart-Haas Racing, Ford Mustang Haas Automation

Custer took a solid lead in the third stage then managed to use it to his advance during a round of green-flag pit stops before holding off Bell for the win in Friday night’s Alsco 300.

Custer’s victory was his fifth of the season – most in the series and one more than Bell. Custer only had two career wins entering the 2019 season.

“It’s been unbelievable,” Custer said of his third fulltime season in Xfinity. “This win goes to my team. That car was just unbelievable. They knew exactly what to do with it when the track changed and I was just lucky to drive it.

“You don’t get cars like that very often. I can’t thank everybody enough.”

Asked about Bell getting close to him after the final round of pit stops, Custer said: “I think I was a little too conservative on my green-flag pit stop. It worked out good. He got closer and I was definitely sweating a little bit.

“But we had a fast car and were able to pull away at the end.”

Tyler Reddick ended up third, Michael Annett was fourth and Chase Briscoe completed the top-five. 

Only five cars finished on the lead-lap a record low for a series race at Kentucky.

With 50 of 200 laps remaining, drivers began a final round of green-flag pit stops for tires and enough fuel to make it to the end of the race.

Once the cycle of stops was completed on Lap 155, Custer – who went into the stops with a large lead – emerged as the race leader but only barely edging out Bell.

With 30 to go, however, Custer was able to sustain about a 1-second lead over Bell with Reddick in third. With no additional cautions in the race, Custer’s lead only grew as the laps wound down.

Stage 2 

Bell made it a sweep of the first two stages, holding off Brandon Jones to earn his 10th stage win of the 2019 season.

Custer finished third, Noah Gragson was fourth and Justin Allgaier rounded out the top-five.

Following the break between Stages 1 and 2, all of the lead-lap cars elected to pit and Justin Haley was the first off pit road thanks to a two-tire pit stop. 

On the restart on Lap 52, Haley led the way followed by Reddick and Gragson.

Jones got around Haley off Turn 2 on Lap 54 to take the lead for the first time in the race.

Austin Cindric hit the Turn 4 wall on Lap 55 while racing with Haley to bring out another caution. Both drivers took their cars to pit road for repairs. 


Jones continued to lead on the restart on Lap 60. He was followed by Gragson and Bell.

After the restart, Gragson went to the inside of Jones and cleared him off Turn 2 to take the lead for the first time in the race.

With 25 laps to go in the second stage, Gragson held a small lead over Bell, who was closing quickly while Jones ran in third.

Bell finally got around Gragson on Lap 67 to retake the lead just before Ronnie Bassett Jr. spun in Turn 1 with a flat tire that brought out the caution. 

The race returned to green on Lap 73 with Bell leading the way.

With 10 laps remaining in the stage, Bell had opened up a 1.5-second lead over Jones as Custer moved up to the third position.

Stage 1

Bell cruised to the Stage 1 win in dominating fashion, leading all 45 laps. It’s the ninth stage win for Bell this season.

Cindric ended up second, Allgaier was third, Reddick fourth and Jones completed the top-five.

Cindric started on the pole but Bell quickly got below Cindric in Turns 1 and 2 and came out with the lead.

On Lap 5, Ja Junior Avila wrecked off Turn 3 to bring out the first caution of the race. After an extensive cleanup of the track, the race returned to green on Lap 12 with Bell in the lead followed by Cindric and Allgaier.

After 15 laps, Bell had opened up almost a 1-second lead over Cindric with Gragson running in third.

By Lap 30, Bell had opened a more than 2-second lead over Cindric. Gragson remained in third, followed by Allgaier and Custer.

Josh Williams had to start the race from the rear of the field after his team had to change engines over the weekend.

Cla # Driver Manufacturer Laps Time Laps Led
1 00 United States Cole Custer  Ford 200 - 88
2 20 United States Christopher Bell  Toyota 200 1.651 72
3 2 United States Tyler Reddick  Chevrolet 200 12.808  
4 1 United States Michael Annett  Chevrolet 200 26.096  
5 98 United States Chase Briscoe  Ford 200 30.705 14
6 9 United States Noah Gragson  Chevrolet 199 1 lap 8
7 7 United States Justin Allgaier  Chevrolet 199 1 lap 1
8 8 United States Ryan Truex  Chevrolet 199 1 lap  
9 39 United States Ryan Sieg  Chevrolet 199 1 lap  
10 11 United States Justin Haley  Chevrolet 199 1 lap 4
11 18 Riley Herbst  Toyota 199 1 lap  
12 23 United States John Hunter Nemechek  Chevrolet 198 2 laps  
13 51 United States Jeremy Clements  Chevrolet 198 2 laps  
14 22 United States Austin Cindric  Ford 198 2 laps 1
15 08 United States Gray Gaulding  Chevrolet 198 2 laps  
16 28 United States Shane Lee  Toyota 198 2 laps  
17 86 United States Brandon Brown  Chevrolet 197 3 laps  
18 36 United States Josh Williams  Chevrolet 197 3 laps  
19   United States Garrett Smithley  Chevrolet 196 4 laps  
20 4 United States B.J. McLeod  Chevrolet 196 4 laps  
21 52 United States David Starr  Chevrolet 195 5 laps  
22 35 United States Joey Gase  Toyota 195 5 laps  
23 5 United States Matt Mills  Toyota 194 6 laps  
24 01 United States Stephen Leicht  Chevrolet 192 8 laps  
25 78 United States Vinnie Miller  Toyota 190 10 laps  
26 15 United States Landon Cassill  Chevrolet 185 15 laps  
27 74 United States Mike Harmon  Chevrolet 178 22 laps  
28 42 United States Chad Finchum  Toyota 154 46 laps  
29 90 United States Ronnie Bassett Jr.  Chevrolet 114 86 laps  
30 19 United States Brandon Jones  Toyota 106 94 laps 12
31 13 John Jackson  Toyota 82 118 laps  
32 93 United States Jeff Green  Chevrolet 71 129 laps  
33 17 United States Camden Murphy  Chevrolet 68 132 laps  
34 89 United States Morgan Shepherd  Chevrolet 55 145 laps  
35 07 United States Ray Black Jr.  Chevrolet 39 161 laps  
36 38 United States Josh Bilicki  Chevrolet 25 175 laps  
37 66 United States Timmy Hill  Toyota 18 182 laps  
38 99 Ja Junior  Toyota 3 197 laps  
Harbin and Brooks earn eNASCAR Heat Pro League wins in Chicago

Previous article

Harbin and Brooks earn eNASCAR Heat Pro League wins in Chicago

Next article

NASCAR Roundtable: Redemption for Kurt Busch at Kentucky

NASCAR Roundtable: Redemption for Kurt Busch at Kentucky
Load comments

About this article

Event Kentucky
Author Jim Utter