Laughlin: Series report on Leap competition

Laughlin: Series report on Leap competition

Round 1, 2011 SCORE Desert Series Saturday and Sunday in Laughlin, Nev.

Dickerson flies his No. 117 AlumiCraft-Chevy to 125' 6" jump; Gordon Wins SCORE Trophy-Truck in Friday's $16,000 SCORE Laughlin Leap

LAUGHLIN, Nev. --Southern California desert racer Jeff Dickerson lit up the Laughlin night, becoming the second straight unlimited Class 1 driver to win the SCORE Laughlin Leap competition Friday, a prelude to this weekend's season-opening 17th Annual SCORE Laughlin Desert Challenge in Laughlin, Nev.

Dickerson, a former SCORE season class point champion, thrilled the standing-room only crowd of over 5,000, winning the unlimited Class 1 division by sending his powerful No. 117 Chevy-powered AlumiCraft open wheel desert race car off the six-foot dirt jump for a distance of 125 feet six inches.

It was Dickerson's first overall win in the event and his first division victory.

Second overall and winning the SCORE Trophy-Truck division for high-tech, 850-horsepower unlimited production trucks was NASCAR Cup team owner/driver Robby Gordon with a leap of 125'. Gordon, a second-generation desert racer who was raised in SoCal but lives now in Charlotte, N.C. drives the No. 77 Team Gordon Chevy CK1500 SCORE Trophy-Truck.

In the unlimited Class 1 division for open-wheel desert race cars, second was Pete Sohren, Glendale, Ariz. with a leap of 124' in a Geiser-Ford.

Class 1-2/1600 racer Mario Gastelum, El Centro, Calif, in a Jimco-VW defeated Cody Robinson, also of El Centro, Calif. in a Romo-VW with a 79' to 75' jump to win the limited CC open-wheel class.

In the Production mini-trucks division, Sportsman racer Jonathon Libby won in a Ford Ranger with a leap of 107' 6".

In the Restricted Cars, the winner was Mexico's Francisco Villagomez, soared 94' 6"in a Pabloff-VW SCORE Lite race car after finishing second in his division last year.

The unique race, split into two parts, will be held Saturday and Sunday from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m. with the 19 classes divided into five race groups running multiple laps each day. The featured SCORE Trophy-Truck division will race at 1 p.m. each day followed by the unlimited Class 1 cars at 3 p.m.

Ticket information is available at

Laughlin: Series qualifying report

Previous article

Laughlin: Series qualifying report

Next article

Laughlin: Series Saturday report

Laughlin: Series Saturday report
Load comments