APC Series late model series releases 2018 schedule

The fourth season of the series will feature nine events held at six Ontario tracks for the popular late model series between May and September.

APC Series late model series releases 2018 schedule
Winner Andy Kamrath
Race winner Brandon Watson
Josh Stade
Andrew Gresel
Matt Lockwood
JR Fitzpatrick
Matt Lockwood

On the heels of another successful season in 2017 for the APC Series, officials with the Ontario-based touring Late Model division have announced the schedule for 2018.

The schedule features nine races held at six different race tracks throughout Ontario with the season kickoff scheduled for Sunset Speedway on Saturday, May 19th. The challenging short track located in  Innisfil has hosted every season opener in the history of the series.

Sunset Speedway is one of three tracks to host multiple events with the second APC race slated for August 11. Flamboro Speedway and Deleware Speedway will also host a pair of races with the series visiting Flamboro on June 2 and July 21 and Deleware hosting a race on June 29 and the series finale on September 15th.

The APC Series will once again visit the newly opened Jukasa Motor Speedway over Labor Day weekend for a race on September 1st with Peterborough Speedway hosting the series on June 16 and Sauble Speedway welcoming the late models on August 4th to round out the schedule.

“Our APC event, The Spira 100 on the Saturday night of APC Battle at the Beach weekend, is our flagship race of the weekend and it proved last year to be one of the greatest short track races in years,” said Mark Dilley, co-owner of Sauble Speedway. “(To have) 24 cars going flag to flag for 100 laps in front of a capacity crowd it just doesn’t get any better.”

The APC series will also unveil a new starting format in 2018.

The first event of 2018 will remain a top-five pill draw as per 2017 rules, and all remaining races in 2018 will follow the new format. This new format will see an inversion of the top 10 based on points. Any car that qualifies in the top 10 and does not have perfect attendance will start behind the cars with perfect attendance. Also, the top-five from qualifying receive points and there will be no change from 2017 in regards to points. 

2018 Schedule

May 19 Sunset Speedway Innisfil, Ont.
June 2 Flamboro Speedway Hamilton, Ont.
June 16 Peterborough Speedway Peterborough, Ont.
June 29 Delaware Speedway Delaware, Ont.
July 21 Flamboro Speedway Hamilton, Ont.
August 4 Sauble Speedway Sauble Beach, Ont.
August 11 Sunset Speedway Innisfil, Ont.
September 1 Jusaka Motor Speedway Cayuga, Ont.
September 15 Delaware Speedway Delaware, Ont.


ACT announces Late Model Tour and Québec schedules

Previous article

ACT announces Late Model Tour and Québec schedules

Next article

Ohsweken Speedway postpones scheduling of major events in 2018

Ohsweken Speedway postpones scheduling of major events in 2018
Load comments