Drago Corse seals Super GT grid spot with new backer

Drago Corse has secured a return to the SUPER GT grid for the 2021 season with a new backer to replace Modulo.

Drago Corse seals Super GT grid spot with new backer

The presence of the team owned by 2000 GT500 champion Ryo Michigami on the GT300 grid was thrown into doubt last month when Honda's announcement of its plans for the 2021 season made no mention of Drago and its solo NSX GT3.

It followed the withdrawal of Modulo's sponsorship, with the Honda subsidiary scaling back its support to just the Nakajima Racing GT500 entry for this year.

However, Drago has been able to secure a new sponsor in the form of sofa and cushion company Yogibo, and will return with Michigami and Shogo Mitsuyama sharing driving duties at the wheel of the team's Yokohama-shod NSX.

Mitsuyama, who last raced full time in SUPER GT in 2016 for Team Taisan SARD, replaces Australian racer Jake Parsons as Michigami's teammate.

#34 Modulo KENWOOD NSX GT3

#34 Modulo KENWOOD NSX GT3

Photo by: GTA

Misato Haga, who previously ran the Direxiv team in the mid-2000s and headed up MOLA's 2008 GT300 title-winning team, has come on board as team director. Incidentally, Mitsuyama previously drove for Direxiv in 2005-06 before it disbanded.

Drago's announcement means there will be at least three NSX GT3s on the GT300 class grid in 2021, with Team UpGarage and ARTA both having already announced their plans.

Both teams have rookie drivers coming on board: Super Formula Lights graduate Teppei Nattori joins Takashi Kobayashi at UpGarage, while Ren Sato - last year's French Formula 4 runner-up - replaces GT500-bound Toshiki Oyu alongside veteran Shinichi Takagi at ARTA.

Drago will also continue to field a sole Honda-powered entry in Super Formula for second-year Colombian racer Tatiana Calderon.

Read Also:

GT300 teams and drivers so far:

No. Team Car Tyre Drivers
2 Inging & Cars Tokai Dream28 Lotus Evora MC Bridgestone

Hiroki Katoh

Ryohei Sakaguchi

4 Goodsmile Racing with Team Ukyo Mercedes-AMG GT3 Yokohama

Nobuteru Taniguchi

Tatsuya Kataoka

6 Team LeMans with Motoyama Racing Audi R8 LMS Yokohama

Satoshi Motoyama

Yoshiaki Katayama

10 Gainer Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3 Dunlop

Kazuki Hoshino

Keishi Ishikawa

11 Gainer Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3 Dunlop

Katsuyuki Hiranaka

Hironobu Yasuda

18 Team UpGarage Honda NSX GT3 Yokohama

Teppei Natori

Takashi Kobayashi

25 Team Tsuchiya Porsche 911 GT3 R Yokohama

Takamitsu Matsui

Kimiya Sato

30 apr Toyota Prius GHV GR Sport Yokohama

Hiroaki Nagai

Manabu Orido

31 apr Toyota Prius GHV GR Sport Bridgestone

Yuhki Nakayama

Koki Saga

34 Drago Corse Honda NSX GT3 Yokohama

Ryo Michigami

Shogo Mitsuyama

35 Team Thailand Lexus RC F GT3 Yokohama

Sean Walkinshaw*

Giuliano Alesi*

48 NILZZ Racing Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3 Yokohama

Taiyou Iida

Yuki Tanaka

50 Arnage Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3 Yokohama

Masaki Kano

Masataka Yanagida

52 Saitama Toyopet Green Brave Toyota GR Supra GT300 Bridgestone

Hiroki Yoshida

Kohta Kawaai

55 ARTA Honda NSX GT3 Bridgestone

Shinichi Takagi

Ren Sato

56 Kondo Racing Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3 Yokohama

Kiyoto Fujinami

Joao Paulo de Oliveira

60 LM Corsa Toyota GR Supra GT300 Dunlop

Hiroki Yoshimoto

Shunsuke Kohno

61 R&D Sport Subaru BRZ (2021) Dunlop

Takuto Iguchi*

Hideki Yamauchi*

65 LEON Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3 Bridgestone

Naoya Gamou

Togo Suganami

96 K-Tunes Racing (LM Corsa) Lexus RC F GT3 Dunlop

Morio Nitta

Sena Sakaguchi

244 Max Racing  Toyota GR Supra GT300 Yokohama

Yuui Tsutsumi

Atsushi Miyake

360 RUNUP (Tomei Sports) Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3 Yokohama

Takayuki Aoki

Atsushi Tanaka

Yudai Uchida

* not officially announced

De Oliveira to defend Super GT GT300 title with Nissan
Previous article

De Oliveira to defend Super GT GT300 title with Nissan

Next article

Sugo escapes damage as earthquake hits northern Japan

Sugo escapes damage as earthquake hits northern Japan
Load comments