Bathurst 1000: McLaughlin smashes Bathurst lap record

Bathurst 1000: McLaughlin smashes Bathurst lap record

Scott McLaughlin has obliterated the unofficial lap record at Mount Panorama, setting a new fastest ever time for a Supercar during the final pre-qualifying practice session.

Scott McLaughlin, Team Penske Ford
Scott McLaughlin, Team Penske Ford
Chaz Mostert, Rod Nash Racing Ford
Chaz Mostert, Rod Nash Racing Ford
Fabian Coulthard, Team Penske Ford
Fabian Coulthard, Team Penske Ford
Cameron Waters, Prodrive Racing Australia Ford
Nick Percat, Brad Jones Racing Holden

The DJR Team Penske driver was in a class of his own, easily eclipsing Jamie Whincup’s unofficial lap record – a 2m04.909 set in 2015.

It was Chaz Mostert that went under Whincup’s benchmark first, storming to the top of the time sheets with a record-busting 2m04.743s just over 20 minutes into the session.

Four minutes later McLaughlin landed the hammer blow, decimating Mostert’s freshly-set record with a 2m04.357s.

He didn’t stop there, either. Ten minutes later McLaughlin went faster again, lowering his own record to a 2m04.220s.

And with 11 minutes to go he had another crack, improving to a stunning 2m04.147s. It could have been better too, a scrappy last sector costing McLaughlin time after he’d been more than two-tenths up at the second sector.

There was no beating that time, the DJR Team Penske driver ending the final pre-qualifying practice session comfortably on top.

“That was awesome. I’m pretty blown way to be honest,” said McLaughlin.

“It was seriously nice to have the tyres to be able to do it. That last lap, I feel we could have gone a little bit better. The first two sets of tyres I was a bit twitchy, put that last set on and it was a bit better. I just made a mistake at the second-last corner.

“But I’ll take a 4.1s any day. Tell you what, though, you’re hanging on!”

Mostert had to find time again to finish second, having been bumped down to third by Nick Percat’s 2m04.708s with a quarter of an hour to go.

The Prodrive Racing driver improved to a 2m04.675s on his final run to slot back into second, and relegate Percat to third.

In total six drivers ended up under Whincup’s former record, with Fabian Coulthard, Cam Waters, and Mark Winterbottom all in the 2m04.7s.

Craig Lowndes was seventh fastest with a 2m04.913s, while Scott Pye and James Moffat rounded out the Top 10.

Neither of the Red Bull Holden made it into the first 10, with Jamie Whincup just 14th fastest and Shane van Gisbergen in 15th.

1 17 france  Alexandre Prémat 
new_zealand  Scott McLaughlin 
Ford Falcon FG-X 2'04.1470  
2 55 australia  Steven Owen 
australia  Chaz Mostert 
Ford Falcon FG-X 2'04.6752 0.5282
3 8 australia  Nick Percat 
australia  Macauley Jones 
Holden Commodore VF 2'04.7087 0.5617
4 12 Tony D'Alberto 
new_zealand  Fabian Coulthard 
Ford Falcon FG-X 2'04.7319 0.5849
5 6 new_zealand  Richie Stanaway 
australia  Cameron Waters 
Ford Falcon FG-X 2'04.7387 0.5917
6 5 australia  Mark Winterbottom 
australia  Dean Canto 
Ford Falcon FG-X 2'04.7979 0.6509
7 888 new_zealand  Steven Richards 
australia  Craig Lowndes 
Holden Commodore VF 2'04.9137 0.7667
8 2 australia  Warren Luff 
australia  Scott Pye 
Holden Commodore VF 2'04.9263 0.7793
9 34 australia  James Moffat 
australia  Richard Muscat 
Holden Commodore VF 2'04.9442 0.7972
10 23 australia  Michael Caruso 
australia  Dean Fiore 
Nissan Altima 2'04.9649 0.8179
11 22 australia  James Courtney 
australia  Jack Perkins 
Holden Commodore VF 2'05.0415 0.8945
12 20 australia  Todd Kelly 
australia  Jack Le Brocq 
Nissan Altima 2'05.0602 0.9132
13 19 Jonathon Webb 
australia  Will Davison 
Holden Commodore VF 2'05.1500 1.0030
14 88 australia  Jamie Whincup 
australia  Paul Dumbrell 
Holden Commodore VF 2'05.1516 1.0046
15 97 new_zealand  Shane van Gisbergen 
australia  Matt Campbell 
Holden Commodore VF 2'05.2264 1.0794
16 56 australia  Jason Bright 
australia  Garry Jacobson 
Ford Falcon FG-X 2'05.2523 1.1053
17 14 australia  Tim Slade 
australia  Ash Walsh 
Holden Commodore VF 2'05.4163 1.2693
18 15 australia  Rick Kelly 
australia  David Wall 
Nissan Altima 2'05.5408 1.3938
19 9 australia  David Reynolds 
Luke Youlden 
Holden Commodore VF 2'05.5751 1.4281
20 18 australia  Lee Holdsworth 
australia  Karl Reindler 
Holden Commodore VF 2'05.6638 1.5168
21 33 australia  Garth Tander 
australia  James Golding 
Holden Commodore VF 2'05.8961 1.7491
22 21 australia  Tim Blanchard 
australia  Todd Hazelwood 
Holden Commodore VF 2'06.1468 1.9998
23 78 switzerland  Simona de Silvestro 
australia  David Russell 
Nissan Altima 2'06.3251 2.1781
24 62 australia  Alex Davison 
australia  Alex Rullo 
Holden Commodore VF 2'06.6950 2.5480
25 99 australia  Dale Wood 
new_zealand  Chris Pither 
Holden Commodore VF 2'06.8886 2.7416
26 3 australia  Aaren Russell 
australia  Taz Douglas 
Holden Commodore VF 2'07.4358 3.2888
Walkinshaw/Andretti searching for new Supercars manufacturer

Previous article

Walkinshaw/Andretti searching for new Supercars manufacturer

Next article

Bathurst 1000: McLaughlin tops crash-affected qualifying

Bathurst 1000: McLaughlin tops crash-affected qualifying
Load comments

About this article

Series Supercars
Event Bathurst
Location Mount Panorama Circuit
Author Andrew van Leeuwen