26 Jun
28 Jun
Next event in
18 days
17 Jul
19 Jul
Next event in
39 days
Hidden Valley
07 Aug
09 Aug
Next event in
60 days
28 Aug
30 Aug
Next event in
81 days
The Bend
18 Sep
20 Sep
Next event in
102 days
08 Oct
11 Oct
Next event in
122 days
30 Oct
01 Nov
Next event in
144 days
Symmons Plains
20 Nov
22 Nov
Next event in
165 days
11 Dec
13 Dec
Next event in
186 days

The Bend Supercars: McLaughlin controls opening race

The Bend Supercars: McLaughlin controls opening race
Aug 24, 2019, 7:04 AM

Scott McLaughlin put in a measured performance to beat Supercars rival Chaz Mostert to Race 1 honours at The Bend.

It was an action-packed opening lap to the 120-kay race, starting with Thomas Randle and Macauley Jones clashing at the first turn at the back end of the field.

There was mid-pack drama five corners later, an awkward rub between Rick Kelly and James Courtney sending Will Davison into a spin, only for his Tickford Mustang to be collected by Simona de Silvestro and Todd Hazelwood.

Things were much cleaner at the front, McLaughlin grabbing an early lead after out-dragging Mostert to Turn 1. 

The two Mustangs ran at a margin of just over a second for the first seven laps, at which points Mostert dived into the lane in a bid to undercut the leader.

McLaughlin responded a lap later, limiting the undercut effect just enough to emerge from his sole stop with a very narrow lead.

Mostert was able to initially put pressure on the effective leader, a couple of fastest laps closing the gap to a couple of tenths.

However as the second stint settled down McLaughlin reclaimed control, the lead hovering at around 1.1s for the majority of the run to the flag.

It wasn't until the closing handful of laps that the gap ballooned out, McLaughlin coming home 7s clear after Mostert was forced to back off and save fuel.

"I knew the start was going to be the key, and that was probably the best start for me for the year," said McLaughlin. 

"[The car] was just hooked up and got going. 

"But [there's been] a lot of hard work behind the scenes, I've been working hard on my fitness and on the preparation side for Tailem Bend, as [have] the team for the car.

"I’m just proud that it all came together."

Expanding on his fuel dramas, Mostert said: "Oh look, I think there was plenty but [I was] just being cautious. You never want to come across the last couple of corners and have a big cough. 

"The guys know their numbers but they are never 100 per cent, so yeah, when the alarm is flashing at you, you just back out of it."

Anton De Pasquale finished a distant third, the Erebus driver a whopping 25s off the leaders.

Behind him things were considerably closer, Mark Winterbottom coming home fourth with mirrors full of Andre Heimgartner's Nissan.

Shane van Gisbergen, Nick Percat and David Reynolds were right in that battle as well, less than two seconds covering positions fourth to eighth. 

Cam Waters and James Courtney finished ninth and 10th, with Jamie Whincup recovering to 11th after an early off at the first turn. 

Fabian Coulthard could only manage 12th in the second Penske Ford, which means McLaughlin's championship lead is now a commanding 514 points. 

Mostert now sits third in the standings, albeit 552 points behind the leading Kiwi.

Race results:

Cla Driver Car Gap
1 New Zealand Scott McLaughlin
Ford Mustang GT
2 Australia Chaz Mostert
Ford Mustang GT 7.0740
3 Australia Anton De Pasquale
Holden Commodore ZB 25.1072
4 Australia Mark Winterbottom
Holden Commodore ZB 29.4580
5 New Zealand Andre Heimgartner
Nissan Altima 29.7266
6 New Zealand Shane van Gisbergen
Holden Commodore ZB 30.4553
7 Australia David Reynolds
Holden Commodore ZB 30.8372
8 Australia Nick Percat
Holden Commodore ZB 31.0917
9 Australia Cameron Waters
Ford Mustang GT 33.6904
10 Australia James Courtney
Holden Commodore ZB 34.9009
11 Australia Jamie Whincup
Holden Commodore ZB 36.7572
12 New Zealand Fabian Coulthard
Ford Mustang GT 37.5218
13 Australia Lee Holdsworth
Ford Mustang GT 37.8229
14 Australia Tim Slade
Holden Commodore ZB 38.3518
15 Australia Scott Pye
Holden Commodore ZB 42.9177
16 New Zealand Richie Stanaway
Holden Commodore ZB 44.0099
17 Australia Thomas Randle
Ford Mustang GT 45.5553
18 Australia James Golding
Holden Commodore ZB 50.5477
19 Australia Macauley Jones
Holden Commodore ZB 54.7345
20 Australia Garry Jacobson
Nissan Altima 57.7725
21 Australia Jack Le Brocq
Holden Commodore ZB 1'04.0809
22 United States Jack Smith
Holden Commodore ZB 1'09.0475
23 Australia Rick Kelly
Nissan Altima 1'46.90
Switzerland Simona de Silvestro
Nissan Altima 23 Laps
Australia Will Davison
Ford Mustang GT 23 Laps
Australia Todd Hazelwood
Holden Commodore ZB 23 Laps
Next article
New Supercars enduro confirmed for 2020

Previous article

New Supercars enduro confirmed for 2020

Next article

Missed McLaughlin chance a "bitter pill" for Tickford

Missed McLaughlin chance a "bitter pill" for Tickford
Load comments

About this article

Series Supercars
Event The Bend
Author Andrew van Leeuwen