26 Jun
28 Jun
Event finished
17 Jul
19 Jul
Next event in
8 days
Hidden Valley
07 Aug
09 Aug
Next event in
29 days
28 Aug
30 Aug
Next event in
50 days
18 Sep
20 Sep
Next event in
71 days
08 Oct
11 Oct
Next event in
91 days
30 Oct
01 Nov
Next event in
113 days
20 Nov
22 Nov
Next event in
134 days
11 Dec
13 Dec
Next event in
155 days

Sandown 500: Pye tops warm-up

Sandown 500: Pye tops warm-up
Nov 9, 2019, 11:34 PM

Scott Pye topped the morning warm-up ahead of the 2019 Sandown 500.

With race runs and driver changes the focus of the 20-minute session, there wasn't much in the way of movement at the top of the times.

Lee Holdsworth set the early pace with a 1m08.366s, Anton De Pasquale then lowing the benchmark slightly with a 1m08.239s just after the 10-minute mark.

Scott McLaughlin then went quicker with three minutes to go, the Penske driver banking a 1m08.221s, before Pye set his session-topping 1m08.190s just a few seconds later.

“It’s a little bit more relaxed than the Bathurst [warm-up],” said Pye, who will start the race from down in 23rd.

“It’s so easy at Bathurst to stick it in the fence. Around here you can give it a bit of a crack, so we had some fun.

“Yesterday, wrong tyre choice and the balance was way off, so we’ve got a lot of work to do today.

“That was important for us that session, see what car speed we’ve got.

“We’ve really got to make sure we’ve got a good car under brakes because we’ve got plenty of overtaking we need to do today.”

Nick Percat ended up fifth, despite co-driver Tim Blanchard going off at the Turn 2/3 complex, followed by James Moffat and David Reynolds.

Fabian Coulthard was eighth, James Courtney ninth and Tim Slade in 10th.

Neither Triple Eight car was in the Top 10, Shane van Gisbergen just 12th quickest while the pole-sitting Jamie Whincup/Craig Lowndes car was 16th.

Cla # Driver Time Gap Interval
1 2 Australia Scott Pye
Australia Warren Luff
2 17 New Zealand Scott McLaughlin
France Alexandre Prémat
1'08.221 0.030 0.030
3 99 Australia Anton De Pasquale
Australia Will Brown
1'08.239 0.049 0.018
4 5 Australia Lee Holdsworth
Australia Thomas Randle
1'08.366 0.175 0.126
5 8 Australia Nick Percat
Australia Tim Blanchard
1'08.426 0.235 0.059
6 55 Australia Chaz Mostert
Australia James Moffat
1'08.436 0.245 0.010
7 9 Australia David Reynolds
Australia Luke Youlden
1'08.486 0.295 0.050
8 12 New Zealand Fabian Coulthard
Australia Tony D'Alberto
1'08.515 0.324 0.028
9 22 Australia James Courtney
Jack Perkins
1'08.517 0.326 0.002
10 14 Australia Tim Slade
Australia Ash Walsh
1'08.522 0.331 0.005
Next article
De Pasquale penalty was wrong, admits Supercars DSA

Previous article

De Pasquale penalty was wrong, admits Supercars DSA

Next article

McLaughlin stripped of Bathurst pole for engine breach

McLaughlin stripped of Bathurst pole for engine breach
Load comments

About this article

Series Supercars
Event Sandown
Author Andrew van Leeuwen