26 Jun
28 Jun
Next event in
23 days
17 Jul
19 Jul
Next event in
44 days
Hidden Valley
07 Aug
09 Aug
Next event in
65 days
28 Aug
30 Aug
Next event in
86 days
The Bend
18 Sep
20 Sep
Next event in
107 days
08 Oct
11 Oct
Next event in
127 days
30 Oct
01 Nov
Next event in
149 days
Symmons Plains
20 Nov
22 Nov
Next event in
170 days
11 Dec
13 Dec
Next event in
191 days

Sandown 500: Whincup fastest, Mostert shunts in Practice 2

Sandown 500: Whincup fastest, Mostert shunts in Practice 2
Sep 14, 2018, 3:19 AM

Jamie Whincup topped the second Supercars practice session ahead of the Sandown 500, while Chaz Mostert's day was cut short by a session-ending shunt.

After co-driver Paul Dumbrell obliterated the field in this morning's co-driver session, Whincup was back in control as the primary drivers joined the fun for the second 30-minute hit-out of the day.

The reigning series champ was on top the whole way through, first going quickest with a 1m08.112s. He then shifted the benchmark down to a 1m08.089s with 10 minutes to go, before settling on a 1m07.968s on his final run.

That time was good enough to edge out teammate Shane van Gisbergen by 0.09s, despite being fractionally slow than Dumbrell went in the earlier session.

While happy to be quickest, Whincup was left perplexed by the patchwork condition of the re-worked Sandown surface.

"It’s sort of frustrating that they decided to fill the gaps in the track the day before the biggest race of the year here," said Whincup.

"Do it two or three days or a week and we don’t have an issue with rubber flying everywhere. But it’s the same for everyone, we tune to the conditions.

“But we cracked on, the car’s good, and we got through what we wanted to.”

Van Gisbergen's time came late in the session, the Kiwi piecing together a two-lap stint in the closing minutes that saw him go third quickest and then second quickest on consecutive laps.

James Courtney was third thanks to a late improvement of his own, the Walkinshaw driver impressed with the feedback he's getting from his Holden.

"All in all, we’d been talking about a numbness in the car all year, and we went to The Bend and I could feel it hooking up and loading, and all that is still there," said the 2010 champ.

“It makes the job so much easier when you can feel that. It makes the changes a lot easier to make, pin-pointing the areas where you need that speed.”

Garth Tander was fourth, while Craig Lowndes – who was second quickest with five minutes to go – was shuffled back to fifth.

Reigning Sandown winner Cam Waters was best of the Tickford Fords in sixth, followed by Nissan's Andre Heimgartner and DJR Team Penske's pacesetter Fabian Coulthard.

Mostert finished up ninth, despite only taking part in half of the session. The Tickford driver had been sitting second early on, before backing his Falcon onto the entry kerb and then into the wall at Turn 4.

"It’s pretty filthy offline for some weird reason,” he said.

“I got a bit wide on that kerb, we used it all last year in the race, but it’s very dirty and slid out underneath me and I couldn’t save it quick enough.”

Scott Pye was 10th quickest in his Walkinshaw Holden, followed by a title contender Scott McLaughlin and reigning Bathurst champion David Reynolds.

The main drivers are now finished for the day, with this afternoon's sole remaining practice session only for co-drivers. The primary drivers will return for the 15-minute all-in practice session tomorrow morning.

Cla # Driver Car Time Gap Interval
1 1 Australia Jamie Whincup
Paul Dumbrell
Holden Commodore ZB 1'07.9688    
2 97 New Zealand Earl Bamber
New Zealand Shane van Gisbergen
Holden Commodore ZB 1'08.0680 0.0992 0.0992
3 25 Australia James Courtney
Jack Perkins
Holden Commodore ZB 1'08.0714 0.1026 0.0034
4 33 Australia Garth Tander
New Zealand Chris Pither
Holden Commodore ZB 1'08.2734 0.3046 0.2020
5 888 New Zealand Steven Richards
Australia Craig Lowndes
Holden Commodore ZB 1'08.3377 0.3689 0.0643
6 6 Australia David Russell
Australia Cameron Waters
Ford Falcon FG X 1'08.3694 0.4006 0.0317
7 7 New Zealand Andre Heimgartner
Australia Aaren Russell
Nissan Altima 1'08.3725 0.4037 0.0031
8 12 Australia Tony D'Alberto
New Zealand Fabian Coulthard
Ford Falcon FG X 1'08.3816 0.4128 0.0091
9 55 Australia Chaz Mostert
Australia James Moffat
Ford Falcon FG X 1'08.4008 0.4320 0.0192
10 2 Australia Warren Luff
Australia Scott Pye
Holden Commodore ZB 1'08.4092 0.4404 0.0084
11 17 France Alexandre Prémat
New Zealand Scott McLaughlin
Ford Falcon FG X 1'08.4604 0.4916 0.0512
12 9 Australia David Reynolds
Australia Luke Youlden
Holden Commodore ZB 1'08.4711 0.5023 0.0107
13 99 Australia Will Brown
Anton de
Holden Commodore ZB 1'08.4830 0.5142 0.0119
14 14 Australia Tim Slade
Australia Ash Walsh
Holden Commodore ZB 1'08.4832 0.5144 0.0002
15 5 Australia Mark Winterbottom
Australia Dean Canto
Ford Falcon FG X 1'08.5007 0.5319 0.0175
16 23 Australia Michael Caruso
Australia Dean Fiore
Nissan Altima 1'08.5039 0.5351 0.0032
17 8 Australia Nick Percat
Australia Macauley Jones
Holden Commodore ZB 1'08.5040 0.5352 0.0001
18 15 Australia Rick Kelly
Garry Jacobson
Nissan Altima 1'08.5815 0.6127 0.0775
19 230 Australia Alex Davison
Australia Will Davison
Ford Falcon FG X 1'08.5994 0.6306 0.0179
20 34 Australia James Golding
Richard Muscat
Holden Commodore ZB 1'08.6486 0.6798 0.0492
21 18 Australia Lee Holdsworth
Australia Jason Bright
Holden Commodore ZB 1'08.6876 0.7188 0.0390
22 19 Australia Jonathon Webb
Australia Jack Le Brocq
Holden Commodore ZB 1'08.6955 0.7267 0.0079
23 78 Switzerland Simona de Silvestro
Australia Alex Rullo
Nissan Altima 1'08.9356 0.9668 0.2401
24 56 New Zealand Richie Stanaway
Australia Steven Owen
Ford Falcon FG X 1'08.9694 1.0006 0.0338
25 21 Australia Dale Wood
Australia Tim Blanchard
Holden Commodore ZB 1'09.0854 1.1166 0.1160
26 35 Australia Bryce Fullwood
Australia Todd Hazelwood
Ford Falcon FG X 1'09.3372 1.3684 0.2518
Next article
Sandown 500: Dumbrell hands early advantage to Triple Eight

Previous article

Sandown 500: Dumbrell hands early advantage to Triple Eight

Next article

DJR Team Penske 'embarrassed' by Supercars tech breach

DJR Team Penske 'embarrassed' by Supercars tech breach
Load comments

About this article

Series Supercars
Event Sandown
Author Andrew van Leeuwen