19 Nov
Next event in
106 days

Audi fastest again in wet Silverstone FP3

Audi fastest again in wet Silverstone FP3
Apr 11, 2015, 9:00 AM

Audi World Endurance Championship star Andre Lotterer set the best time in a wet Free Practice 3 session at Silverstone this morning.

 Marcel Fassler and Andre Lotterer
#1 Toyota Racing Toyota TS040-Hybrid: Anthony Davidson, Sébastien Buemi, Kazuki Nakajima
#7 Audi Sport Team Joest Audi R18 e-tron quattro: Marcel Fassler, Andre Lotterer, Benoit Tréluyer
#18 Porsche Team Porsche 919 Hybrid: Romain Dumas, Neel Jani, Marc Lieb
#42 Strakka Racing Dome Strakka S103 - Nissan: Nick Leventis, Danny Watts, Jonny Kane
#35 Oak Racing Ligier JS P2 - Nissan: Jacques Nicolet, Jean-Marc Merlin, Erik Maris
#91 Porsche Team Manthey Porsche 911 RSR: Richard Lietz and Michael Christensen

The three-time Le Mans winner, driving the #7 Audi R18 e-tron quattro that he shares with Benoit Treluyer and Marcel Fassler, set a 1m52.094s in the damp conditions at the very end of the session as a faint dry line started to emerge.

Audi enjoyed a significant advantage for most of the session, but in the dying moments Toyota's Kazuki Nakajima got to within 0.674s of Lotterer.

There was plenty of finding the limits from the 29-car field as they explored the wet Silverstone track during the 60-minute session. The most significant incidents befell the #2 Toyota TS 040 HYBRID driven by Mike Conway and the Signatech Alpine of Nelson Panciatici.

While Conway emerged unscathed from the Luffield gravel trap, Panciatici was stuck at Stowe after a spin beached the LMP2 car for the last 12 minutes of running.

The two Porsche 919 Hybrids placed third and fourth with the #18 car frustrated to not be able to catch up on lost time from yesterday, when they suffered a driveshaft issue that kept them in the pits for the first hour of session one.

In LMP2, Pipo Derani once again starred in the G-Drive Racing Ligier-Nissan as he set a 2m05.786s lap in the final moments of the session to usurp the Strakka Racing run Dome S103 Nissan.

The Strakka team, based close to the track eventually placed third, as the Oreca 05 driven by Matt Howson posted a late lap to claim second for the KCMG team.

The #92 Porsche Team Manthey emerged quickest in the LMGTE Pro class with Frederic Makowiecki posting a 2m13.665. Second was the #95 Aston Martin Racing entry, driven by Christoffer Nygaard.

Emmanuel Collard set the best LMGTE Am time of 2m16.396s in the AF Corse Ferrari 458 Italia that he shares with Francois Perrodo and Rui Aguas.

The qualifying sessions are scheduled to get underway at 12.00 local time.

Pos  Drivers Team Time Gap Laps
Marcel Fassler
Andre Lotterer
Benoît Tréluyer
Audi 1'52.094   27
Anthony Davidson
Sebastien Buemi
Kazuki Nakajima
Toyota 1'52.768 0.674 25
Romain Dumas
Neel Jani
Marc Lieb
Porsche 1'56.430 4.336 26
Timo Bernhard
Mark Webber
Brendon Hartley
Porsche 1'56.593 4.499 25
Alexander Wurz
Mike Conway
Toyota 1'56.781 4.687 24
Lucas di Grassi
Loic Duval
Oliver Jarvis
Audi 1'57.687 5.593 24
Gustavo Yacamán
Luis Derani
Ricardo González
Ligier/Nissan 2'04.835 12.741 24
Simon Trummer
Vitantonio Liuzzi
Christian Klien
CLM/AER 2'05.769 13.675 21
Matt Howson
Richard Bradley
Nick Tandy
ORECA/Nissan 2'07.287 15.193 21
10  Nick Leventis
Danny Watts
Jonny Kane
Dome/Nissan 2'07.672 15.578 20
11  Roman Rusinov
Julien Canal
Sam Bird
Ligier/Nissan 2'10.596 18.502 24
12  N.Panciatici
Paul-Loup Chatin
Alpine/Nissan 2'11.932 19.838 16
13  Patrick Pilet
Porsche 2'13.665 21.571 14
14  C.Nygaard
Marco Sorensen
Nicki Thiim
Aston Martin 2'13.712 21.618 21
15  Richard Lietz
Porsche 2'13.846 21.752 17
16  Davide Rigon
James Calado
Ferrari 2'14.611 22.517 16
17  Gianmaria Bruni
Toni Vilander
Ferrari 2'14.835 22.741 14
18  Darren Turner
Stefan Mücke
Aston Martin 2'14.865 22.771 23
19  Alex MacDowall
Fernando Rees
Richie Stanaway
Aston Martin 2'16.001 23.907 19
20  Francois Perrodo
Emmanuel Collard
Rui Aguas
Ferrari 2'16.396 24.302 21
21  Patrick Dempsey
Patrick Long
Marco Seefried
Porsche 2'17.186 25.092 22
22  F.Castellacci
Roald Goethe
Stuart Hall
Aston Martin 2'17.604 25.510 20
23  Gianluca Roda
Paolo Ruberti
Kristian Poulsen
Chevrolet 2'17.991 25.897 18
24  Christian Ried
K.Al Qubaisi
Klaus Bachler
Porsche 2'18.701 26.607 20
25  Jacques Nicolet
Jean-Marc Merlin
Erik Maris
Ligier/Nissan 2'18.954 26.860 19
26  Paul Dalla Lana
Pedro Lamy
Mathias Lauda
Aston Martin 2'19.069 26.975 18
27  Scott Sharp
Ryan Dalziel
David Hansson
HPD     0
28  Ed Brown
Jon Fogarty
David Brabham
HPD     0
29  Viktor Shaitar
Andrea Bertolini
Aleksey Basov
Ferrari     0
ACO outlines rationale for new LMP2 rules

Previous article

ACO outlines rationale for new LMP2 rules

Next article

Webber and Hartley take Silverstone WEC pole for Porsche

Webber and Hartley take Silverstone WEC pole for Porsche
Load comments