Aragon WSBK: Davies ends Rea's reign with Race 2 win

Chaz Davies became the first rider to beat Jonathan Rea in the 2017 World Superbike season in Race 2 at Aragon, the Welshman winning from 10th on the grid.

Aragon WSBK: Davies ends Rea's reign with Race 2 win
Chaz Davies, Ducati Team
Chaz Davies, Ducati Team
Chaz Davies, Ducati Team
Chaz Davies, Ducati Team
Marco Melandri, Ducati Team
Tom Sykes, Kawasaki Racing
Michael van der Mark, Pata Yamaha

Davies fought back from crashing out from the lead, and thus giving Rea the win, in yesterday's Race 1.

Having finished fourth and fifth yesterday, Yamaha duo Alex Lowes and Michael van der Mark started the Sunday race first and second.

Lowes had a strong launch off the line, but the Briton could hold on to the lead for only three laps before surrendering to the charging Rea.

Marco Melandri and Davies also followed him through soon afterwards, relegating the Yamaha duo to fourth and fifth.

Davies continued his charge by overtaking his teammate, and also managing to make a move stick on Rea to claim the lead on Lap 13.

Instead of fighting back, Rea was also passed by Melandri on the main straight two laps later.

However, Rea managed to retake second just a few corners later, and was all over Davies during the final lap of the race.

The Northern Irishman made two separate overtaking attempts, but Davies managed to hold him off to secure his first win of 2017.

Rea had to settle for second for the first time this year, as Melandri lost ground towards the end in third.

After dropping back to fourth, Lowes ran off track to drop outside of the top 10 and eventually finished 13th.

His teammate Van der Mark held the spot for much of the race, but his pace dropped dramatically towards the end, allowing Rea's teammate Tom Sykes through and settling for fifth.

Local riders Xavi Fores (Barni Ducati) and Jordi Torres (Althea BMW) took sixth and seventh respectively, ahead of Aprilia duo Leandro Mercado (Ioda) and Eugene Laverty (Milwaukee).

The top 10 was completed by the sole MV Agusta rider of Leon Camier.

Race 2 results

1 united_kingdom Chaz Davies  Ducati  
2 united_kingdom Jonathan Rea  Kawasaki 0.483
3 italy Marco Melandri  Ducati 2.479
4 united_kingdom Tom Sykes  Kawasaki 10.562
5 netherlands Michael van der Mark  Yamaha 13.336
6 spain Xavi Forés  Ducati 16.951
7 spain Jordi Torres  BMW 18.638
8 argentina Leandro Mercado  Aprilia 18.700
9 ireland Eugene Laverty  Aprilia 21.290
10 united_kingdom Leon Camier  MV Agusta 22.246
11 spain Roman Ramos  Kawasaki 24.307
12 germany Stefan Bradl  Honda 25.829
13 united_kingdom Alex Lowes  Yamaha 26.611
14 switzerland Randy Krummenacher  Kawasaki 40.575
15 spain Julian Simon  Aprilia 40.769
16 germany Markus Reiterberger  BMW 40.915
17 italy Ayrton Badovini  Kawasaki 1'00.980
  san_marino Alex de Angelis  Kawasaki 5 laps
  italy Riccardo Russo  Yamaha 6 laps
  united_states Nicky Hayden  Honda 7 laps
Aragon WSBK: Rea wins, Davies crashes from the lead

Previous article

Aragon WSBK: Rea wins, Davies crashes from the lead

Next article

Reiterberger withdraws from rest of WSBK season

Reiterberger withdraws from rest of WSBK season
Load comments