Formula E
14 Feb
15 Feb
Event finished
Marrakesh E-prix
27 Feb
29 Feb
FP2 in
2 days
Formula 1 MotoGP
05 Mar
08 Mar
FP1 in
8 days
Thailand GP
19 Mar
22 Mar
FP1 in
22 days
21 Feb
23 Feb
Event finished
28 Feb
01 Mar
First Practice in
2 days
13 Mar
15 Mar
Next event in
15 days
03 Apr
05 Apr
Next event in
36 days
22 Feb
23 Feb
Event finished
18 Mar
20 Mar
Next event in
20 days

Casale seals dominant third Dakar quad title

Casale seals dominant third Dakar quad title
Jan 17, 2020, 7:37 AM

Ignacio Casale took his third Dakar Rally title in the quad class on his return to the category as rookie Arkadiusz Lindner took his maiden stage win.

Casale, who returned after a one-year excursion into the SxS category last year, dominated the quad class for the duration of the marathon.

Laying the foundation of his title with three stage wins in the first four days, he finished every time in the top three until Stage 10, which threw a spanner in the works as he got lost and conceded much of his lead.

But Casale was not fazed as he beat Simon Vitse, his last realistic rival at that point, by five minutes on the penultimate day and entered the final stage with a 21m16s advantage.

He did not press the issue and was 4m17s slower than pace-setter Lindner, but his title, which he won by 24m09s, was never in danger.

Vitse was able to complete the Dakar Rally for the first time on his third attempt and took the runner-up spot as the only rider within an hour of Casale.

Rafal Sonik was third, the Pole making it to the top three for the first time since his 2015 title while the top five was completed by Manuel Andujar and Kamil Wisniewski.

Yamaha remained the benchmark quad in the category as it locked out the top five in the category, having won the first 11 stages.

Lindner however triumphed on his Can-Am quad on the last day, becoming the first non-Yamaha stage winner since 2017.

Final Standings (Quads, Top 10):

Pos. Rider Quad Time/Gap

Chile Ignacio Casale

Yamaha 50h07m07s

France Simon Vitse

Yamaha 18m24s

Poland Rafal Sonik

Yamaha 1h04m15s

Argentina Manuel Andujar

Yamaha 3h30m16s

Poland Kamil Wisniewski

Yamaha 4h38m53s

France Sebastien Souday

Yamaha 5h45m14s

Chile Italo Pedemonte

Yamaha 6h34m28s

Paraguay Nelson Augusto Sanabria

Yamaha 8h56m03s

Czech Republic Zdenek Tuma

Yamaha 15h58m30s

Argentina Martin Sarquiz

Can-Am 17h14m39s

Related video

Next article
Brabec wins Dakar 2020 as Honda ends KTM's streak

Previous article

Brabec wins Dakar 2020 as Honda ends KTM's streak

Next article

Sainz wins 2020 Dakar Rally for X-raid Mini, Alonso 13th

Sainz wins 2020 Dakar Rally for X-raid Mini, Alonso 13th
Load comments

About this article

Series Dakar
Event Dakar
Sub-event Stage 12: Haradh - Qiddiya
Drivers Ignacio Casale
Teams Casale Racing
Author David Gruz