Formula 1
11 Sep
Event finished
11 Sep
Event finished
18 Sep
FP3 in
04 Hours
53 Minutes
01 Seconds
Formula E NASCAR Cup
12 Sep
Event finished
Bristol II
19 Sep
Race in
20 Hours
28 Minutes
01 Seconds
12 Sep
Event finished
12 Nov
Next event in
53 days
18 Sep
Qualifying 1 in progress . . .

Johnny Rutherford


Championship Driver Team Event Location Article type
717 articles
Clear all filters
Johnny Rutherford
Article type

Latest news on Johnny Rutherford


Carlin: McLaren “too late” to enter IndyCar in 2019

A prospective McLaren IndyCar team may have “missed the boat” for the 2019 season, says Carlin team boss Trevor Carlin.

Rutherford hopes Alonso is in "awe" of Indy

Three-time Indy 500 winner Johnny Rutherford, who twice won for McLaren, hopes Fernando Alonso will be in “awe” of The Brickyard on race day.

Three-time Indy winner Rutherford to serve as McLaren ambassador

Johnny Rutherford, who took three Indy 500 victories of which two were in works McLarens, will serve as the McLaren-Honda-Andretti team ambassador this month when Fernando Alonso drives for the hallowed marque at the Speedway.

Sarah Fisher named official pace car driver for 2016 IndyCar season

The former team owner and driver Sarah Fisher will serve as the pace car driver for the Verizon IndyCar Series during the 2016 season

Tradition be damned: Fix the open-cockpit cars

Everything about the cars has changed since open cockpits made sense, except for protecting the driver's head. That must end.

Top 10: Drivers who never won the Indy 500 but should have

Highlighting ten drivers who were within arm's reach of the Indy 500 crown, but came up short.

This week in racing history (April 27-May 3)

People in this week in racing history include: Christian Werner, Luigi Villoresi,Dick Johnson,Warren Johnson,Mike Nazaruk and Johnny Rutherford

Power surges into history books with St. Pete win

On March 30, Power matched Johncock (1977-78) as the only drivers in the modern era (since 1946) to win the final two races of one season and the opener of the next.

Format changes enhance battle to qualify for Indianapolis 500

Plan designed to add excitement to qualifying days will debut this may.

1994 Indianapolis 500: an all-in gamble pays off

A look back at the 1994 Indy 500, forever remembered for the disappointed Emmo Fittipaldi, and Unser Jr. took home the win.

Paul Page, a decade of announcing

With Paul Page slated to be back in the announcers stand at the Indy 500, we look back on his top five moments in the booth.

Castroneves captures fourth career win at TMS

Interview with Helio Castroneves, Roger Penske, Ryan Hunter-Reay and Tony Kanaan.

Castroneves wins at Texas to take series point lead

Helio Castroneves is the seventh different winner in eight races this IndyCar season.

Pagenaud leads final practice, Castroneves' crew wins pit stop contest

Carb Day was busy with the final Indy 500 practice with Simon Pagenaud setting fastest lap. The pit stop contest was won again by Helio Castroneves and Team Penske.

Indy 500 by the numbers

Welcome to Indiana-ville - Math teacher Jay Alley breaks down the numbers for the Indianapolis 500

Honda ready as 2013 IndyCar season opens

Honda has a total of 196 race victories in open-wheel racing, 65 in Championship Auto Racing Team (CART) competition and 131 in IndyCar.

Texas GRAND-AM teams raring to go racing at Circuit of The Americas™

At least two Texas-based race teams are eager to demonstrate their driving skills in front of their “home town” fans for the first time.

2013: Celebrating 50 years of McLaren

On September 2nd 2013, the McLaren Group will celebrate its 50th anniversary.

Indianapolis 500 veteran David "Salt" Walther dies At 65

The charismatic driver made 7 Indianapolis 500 starts. His finish was a ninth place in the 1976 race.