Formula 1
Emilia Romagna GP
18 Apr
Race in
41 days
Formula E
Rome ePrix
10 Apr
Next event in
33 days
28 Mar
FP1 in
18 days
Doha GP
02 Apr
Next event in
25 days
16 Apr
Next event in
39 days
23 Apr
Next event in
46 days

NASCAR unveils Truck Series bonus program, procedural changes

Ahead of the start of the 2019 season, NASCAR on Monday announced several competition updates as well a new bonus program for the Truck Series.

NASCAR unveils Truck Series bonus program, procedural changes
Christopher Bell, Kyle Busch Motorsports Toyota leads Kyle Busch, Kyle Busch Motorsports Toyota at the start
Chase Briscoe, Brad Keselowski Racing Ford nd Matt Crafton, ThorSport Racing Toyota green flag start
Kurt Busch, Stewart-Haas Racing, Ford Fusion Monster Energy / Haas Automation, Joey Logano, Team Penske, Ford Fusion Shell Pennzoil and Brad Keselowski, Team Penske, Ford Fusion Miller Lite green flag start
Johnny Sauter, GMS Racing, Allegiant Airlines Chevrolet Silverado, Spencer Davis, Kyle Busch Motorsports, JBL/SiriusXM Toyota Tundra
Ryan Preece, Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota and Kyle Benjamin, Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota green flag start

Beginning this season, the Gander Outdoors Truck Series will get a bonus program similar to the “Dash4Cash” program in the Xfinity Series.

The “Triple Truck Challenge” will take place over three consecutive races – Texas (June 7), Iowa (June 15) and Gateway (June 22). All drivers earning series points are eligible.

A driver who wins one of the three races will receive a $50,000 bonus. Winning two races will get a driver $150,000 total ($50,000 per race plus a $50,000 bonus), while a driver who wins all three will receive a total prize of $500,000 ($50,000 per race win, $50,000 bonus for winning twice, plus a $300,000 bonus for sweeping the races).

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup and Xfinity series drivers are not eligible to compete in the three races of the program.

In addition to the massive post-race inspection changes, NASCAR officials also outlined several other competition and procedural changes this season.

Among them:

  • The debut of the next generation race car is scheduled for the 2021 Daytona 500, with NASCAR’s hope additional manufacturers may be participating by that time. The current engine will be used through at least the 2021 season with 2022 the earliest for an engine update.
  • Starting this year, Xfinity Series drivers are no longer able to compete in the Truck Series season finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway. Drivers who have not declared for Truck Series points will also be ineligible to compete in the “Triple Truck Challenge” races.
  • Each national series will once again have a series-specific set of inspectors. There will be 12 officials for the Cup Series, 10 for the Xfinity Series and eight for the Truck Series.
  • The first round of qualifying for all three national series has been shortened from 15 minutes to 10. The second round (10 minutes) and third round (five minutes) remain the same. The break between rounds has also been reduced from seven minutes to five. Superspeedway and road course qualifying will remain unchanged.

Read Also:

Jeff Gordon leads impressive group into NASCAR Hall of Fame

Previous article

Jeff Gordon leads impressive group into NASCAR Hall of Fame

Next article

Austin Theriault teams up with RBR for Daytona Truck race

Austin Theriault teams up with RBR for Daytona Truck race
Load comments

About this article

Author Jim Utter