Masters of F3: Ilott takes pole for qualifying race

Callum Ilott has secured pole position for race one of the 26th running of the Masters of Formula 3 race weekend, at Circuit Park Zandvoort.

Masters of F3: Ilott takes pole for qualifying race
Callum Ilott, Van Amersfoort Racing Dallara F312 - Mercedes
Tom Randle, Double R Racing Dallara F314 – Mercedes
Guanyu Zhou, Motopark Dallara F316 – Volkswagen
Sergio Sette Camara, Motopark Dallara F314 – Volkswagen
Joel Eriksson, Motopark Dallara F316 – Volkswagen
Pedro Piquet, Van Amersfoort Racing Dallara F316 - Mercedes
Harrison Scott, Hitech GP Dallara F315 - Mercedes

Hitech GP's Alex Albon, Carlin's Alessio Lorandi and Van Amersfoort Racing's Ilott were among the fastest on track at the start, but lap times improved significantly after ten minutes with the first nine drivers sitting within four tenths of a second.

Ferrari junior driver Guan Yu Zhou surprised to lead the pack at halfway by clocking a 1m30.358s which put him in front of Albon and teammate Joel Eriksson.

Eriksson was first to improve after a mid-session pitstop, moving up to provisional pole after setting a purple time in the second sector.

But it wasn’t enough as Zhou improved as well, just as Albon and Ilott, who was 0.012 seconds faster than Eriksson with three minutes left.

A time of 1m33.837s was enough for the British driver to take pole position, with Eriksson alongside.

The second row will contain Albon and Niko Kari, as Zhou managed to take fifth, 0.024s faster than VAR's Pedro Piquet.

Red Bull junior Sergio Sette Camara was sixth ahead of rookie Anthoine Hubert, with the lead Carlin of Lorandi in ninth, as David Beckmann completed the top 10.

The result of the Saturday race will determine the starting order of the race on Sunday which lasts for 25 laps.

Qualifying results:

 PosDriver Team Time  Delay  Laps 
 Callum Ilott Van Amersfoort Racing 1'29.820   13
 Joel Eriksson Motopark 1'29.832 0.012 17
 Alexander Albon Hitech GP 1'29.849 0.029 16
 Niko Kari Motopark 1'29.928 0.108 14
 Guan Yu Zhou Motopark 1'30.045 0.225 15
 Pedro Piquet Van Amersfoort Racing 1'30.069 0.249 15
 Sergio Sette Camara Motopark 1'30.098 0.278 15
 Anthoine Hubert Van Amersfoort Racing 1'30.189 0.369 15
 Alessio Lorandi Carlin 1'30.234 0.414 16
10   David Beckmann Mucke Motorsport 1'30.450 0.630 14
11   Harrison Scott Hitech GP 1'30.807 0.987 16
12   Colton Herta Carlin 1'31.198 1.378 16
13   Sam MacLeod Fortec 1'31.398 1.578 15
14   Ricky Capo Fortec 1'32.195 2.375 17
15   Tom Randle Double R Racing 1'32.325 2.505 18
16   Ameya Vaidyanathan Carlin 1'32.408 2.588 18
Albon: Macau return "on the cards" after Masters

Previous article

Albon: Macau return "on the cards" after Masters

Next article

Masters of F3: Eriksson beats Ilott to win qualifying race

Masters of F3: Eriksson beats Ilott to win qualifying race
Load comments

About this article

Series F3
Event Masters of F3
Location Circuit Zandvoort
Author Tim Biesbrouck