Subscribe

Sign up for free

  • Get quick access to your favorite articles

  • Manage alerts on breaking news and favorite drivers

  • Make your voice heard with article commenting.

Motorsport prime

Discover premium content
Subscribe

Edition

Australia
Track
Canada

Circuit Gilles-Villeneuve

Circuit Gilles-Villeneuve

Schedule season 2024

Your time
Local time
Formula 1 Canadian GP

Circuit Gilles-Villeneuve

The 2024 Canadian Grand Prix is the ninth race of the 2024 F1 calendar, taking place on the Circuit Gilles-Villeneuve. It's a race that's usually capable of causing some memorable moments - particularly thanks to the final chicane of turns 13 and 14.

 

Coming at the end of a long straight and leading onto another straight, drivers go from top speed down to 150kmh - not usually a problem for them, however the large kerbs on the inside of both corners mixed with the hard concrete wall on the outside of the exit of 14 has been the site of many hard crashes. In fact it was hit by so many drivers - including three world champions - in the 1999 Canadian Grand Prix that it was given the nickname the "Wall of Champions", after claiming Ralf Schumacher in qualifying, Ricardo Zonta on lap two of the race, then Damon Hill, Michael Schumacher and Jacques Villenueve on laps 14, 29 and 34 respectively. Other champions to have crashed are Jenson Button (lap 46 of the 2005 Canadian Grand Prix) and Sebastian Vettel (FP1 of the 2011 race). 

 

The second chicane - at turns three and four - also saw another race-defining incident, again involving Vettel. The German had been leading Lewis Hamilton but made a mistake on the way into the corner, losing the rear end and cutting the second corner. On rejoining the track he squeezed Hamilton against the outside wall, technically pushing the Brit off the track as defined by the white lines. He was given a hugely controversial five-second penalty, reacting by removing the number 1 sign from in front of Hamilton's car and replacing it with the second-place sign.

 

A final incident involving Sebastian Vettel happened at the circuit's third chicane - turns six and seven - in 2011. Perhaps one of the series' best-ever races, Vettel was defending from a charging Jenson Button in the rain. Button had been involved in a number of incidents throughout the race, and was chasing down Vettel for the win, when on the final lap - heading into the left-hander of turn six - Vettel dipped a tire onto the wet part of the track, losing the position and handing Button a captivating win.

The 2024 Canadian Grand Prix also brings with it some more news stories, as Alpine announced that Esteban Ocon won't be driving for the team in 2025, while reigning champions Red Bull might see a repeat of their tricky Monaco Grand Prix amid their troubles with kerbs.

 

With so much drama and intrigue in the history of the Canadian Grand Prix, this is everything you need to know about how to watch the 2024 race.

 

How to watch the 2024 Canadian Grand Prix

 

The Canadian GP will start at 2pm local time (GMT -4) on 9 June 2024, with qualifying taking place at 4pm local time on 8 June 2024. Due to the time zone difference, it will be in the early hours of Monday morning for some regions.

  • Date: Sunday, 9 June, 2024
  • Start time: 6pm GMT / 7pm BST / 8pm CEST / 9pm EAT / 2pm ET / 11am PT / 4am AEST (Monday) / 3am JST (Monday) / 11:30pm IST

 

How can I watch the 2024 Canadian Grand Prix?

 

Formula 1 is broadcast live in nearly every country around the world. 

 

Europe

  • Austria - Servus TV / ORF
  • Belgium - RTBF / Telenet / Play Sports
  • Croatia - Sport Klub
  • Czech Republic - AMC
  • Denmark - TV3+ / TV3 Sport / Viaplay
  • Estonia: Viaplay
  • Finland - Viaplay 
  • France - Canal+
  • Germany - Sky 
  • Greece - ANT1 / ANT1+
  • Hungary - M4
  • Italy - Sky
  • Netherlands - Viaplay / Viaplay Xtra
  • Norway - V sport 1 / V sport + / Viaplay
  • Poland - Viaplay
  • Portugal - Sport TV
  • Spain - F1 DAZN
  • Sweden - Viaplay / V sport motor / TV 10
  • Switzerland - SRF / RSI / RTS
  • UK - Sky Sports F1

Americas

  • USA - ABC
  • Canada - RDS / RDS2 / TSN / Noovo
  • Latin America - ESPN

Asia

  • China - CCTV / Shanghai TV / Guangdong Television Channel / Tencent
  • India - FanCode
  • Japan - Fuji TV / DAZN
  • Malaysia - beIN SPORTS
  • Indonesia- beIN SPORTS
  • Singapore - beIN SPORTS
  • Thailand - beIN SPORTS
  • Vietnam - K+

Oceania

  • Australia - Fox Sports / Foxtel / Kayo / Network Ten
  • New Zealand - Sky

Africa

  • Africa - SuperSport
  •  

Can I stream the 2024 F1 Canadian Grand Prix?

 

Viewers can subscribe to F1 TV in selected countries to stream the race on a device of their choice.

 

Sky Sports and Movistar also offer their own live streaming service in the UK and Spain respectively.

Sign up for free

  • Get quick access to your favorite articles

  • Manage alerts on breaking news and favorite drivers

  • Make your voice heard with article commenting.

Motorsport prime

Discover premium content
Subscribe

Edition

Australia