Formula 1
11 Sep
Event finished
25 Sep
Event finished
25 Sep
Event finished
Formula E NASCAR Cup
Las Vegas II
27 Sep
Race in
08 Hours
13 Minutes
36 Seconds
12 Sep
Event finished
12 Nov
Next event in
45 days
18 Sep
Event finished

End of season of the Canadian pro racing series

End of season of the Canadian pro racing series

The Canadian pro racing series are already coming to an end and the championship battles are as intense as they can be.

The summer racing season is relatively short in our country, starting in the middle of May and ending in early October. There are only two events, three in some instances left to contest and the new champions will be crowned.

Let’s now review the title chases in the major Canadian series.

NASCAR Pinty’s Series

There are just three races left in this year’s NASCAR Pinty’s Series, the Total Quartz 200 at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park (road course) on September 3rd, the Lucas Oil 250 presented by Bumper to Bumper & Coors Light au Autodrome St. Eustache (short oval) on Sept. 9th, and the Jukasa 200 at Jukasa Motor Speedway (short oval) on September 23rd.

Alex Labbe, the driver of the No. 32 Can-Am/Kappa/Cyclops Gear/Lou's BBQ Ford is on top of the standings, having won the most recent race the Bumper To Bumper 300 at Riverside International Speedway.

Drivers point standings (top 10)



Alex Labbe 432
2 Kvin Lacroix 396
3 Cayden Lapcevich 388
4 D.J. Kennington 386
5 L.P. Dumoulin 378
6 Alex Tagliani 363
7 J.F. Dumoulin 344
8 Andrew Ranger 343
9 Adam Martin 328
10 Anthony Simone 241

Ultra 94 Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge by Yokohama

British Columbia’s competitor Scott Hargrove, a former US F2000 Series' champion, dominated the 2017 season. The driver of the No. 9 Pfaff Motorsports Porsche 991 leads the Platinium class standings from his arch rival, Zacharie Robichon of Ottawa, Ontario. There’s only one race left to contest, at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park, September 1st to 3rd.

Drivers point standings (top 5)

1 Scott Hargrove 186
2 Zacharie Robichon 164
3 Michael de Quesada 122
4 Marco Cirone 104
5 Patrick Dussault 103

Nissan Micra Cup

Like last year, the 2017 Nissan Micra Cup, a series exclusive to Canada, turned into an exciting and highly intense battle between two former Cup champions, Olivier Bédard and Xavier Coupal, both driving for team Total Canada. Let’s not forget third placed Kevin King who could play a major role in this battle. There are two meetings left of two rounds each – Canadian Tire Motorsport Park and Mont-Tremblant’s Fall Classic.

Drivers’ point standings (top 5)

1 Olivier Bédard 266
2 Xavier Coupal 261
3 Kevin King 241
4 Jean-Michel Isabelle 196
5 Valérie Limoges 164

Formula Tour 1600 Groupe STCH

The Formula Tour Groupe STCH series for Ford and Honda powered Formula 1600 open wheel cars will be in action for the last two meetings of three rounds each at Calabogie Motorsport Park for the Ted Powell event (August 25-27) and at the Mont-Tremblant Circuit for the Fall Classic on September 22-24. American driver Conrad Czaczyk leads the point standings with 264 points.

Drivers’ point standings (top 5)

1 Konrad Czaczyk 264
2 Roman De Angelis 247
3 Jacob Astren 132
4 Guillaume Archambault 118
5 Didier Schraenen 117

Canadian Touring Car Championship (CTCC)

The next appearance for the CTCC will be a second and last tripleheader event on September 1-3 at the Canadian Tire Motorsport Park circuit. Then, the competitors will run on Circuit ICAR’s long track in Mirabel on September 30 for the final two rounds of the year.

GT Sport Class Standing (top 5)

1 Chris Sahakian 992
2 Bob Attrell 922
3 Gary Kwok 727
4 Ashley Sahakian 499
5 Tom Kwok 446

Super Touring Class Standing (top 5)

1 Eric Hochgeschurz 1077
2 Jeff Kingsley 1059
3 Nathalie Hénault 961
4 Jean-François Hevey 919
5 Nathan Blok 472

Touring Class Standing (top 5)

1 Michel Sallenbach 1153
2 Jon Young 973
3 Scott Nicol 914
4 Paul Gravel 844
5 Paul Dargis 617


Alex Labbe bumps his way to win in Pinty’s Series race Sunday

Previous article

Alex Labbe bumps his way to win in Pinty’s Series race Sunday

Next article

Jukasa Motor Speedway and APC Series ready for opener

Jukasa Motor Speedway and APC Series ready for opener
Load comments

About this article

Series NASCAR Canada
Author René Fagnan