Giugliano leads Jerez Friday qualifying over Melandri and Laverty

In World Supersport, Yakhnich Motorsport one-two in Qualifying 1

Giugliano leads Jerez Friday qualifying over Melandri and Laverty

Davide Giugliano (Althea Racing Aprilia) was the quickest rider in today's Qualifying 1 for eni FIM Superbike World Championship. The 23 year old from Rome moved up on top of the charts with six minutes left by lapping in 1'42.374s, heading the field right to the end of the session. Marco Melandri (BMW Motorrad GoldBet) tried to fight off his fellow Italian in the late stages, eventually settling for second ahead of Eugene Laverty (Aprilia Racing Team).

The Irishman had a small crash early on but he was able to get back to the track to climb the timesheets up to third, likewise team mate Sylvain Guintoli, fifth at the flag. Fourth place Toni Elias (Red Devils Aprilia), fastest rider in free practice today, lost control of his RSV4 at Turn 12 just few moments afterwards, though he was unable to rejoin.

Leon Camier (FIXI Crescent Suzuki) put up an impressive performance, considering his physical condition, and finished sixth, followed by Championship leader Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team), One Event rider Lorenzo Lanzi (Mesaroli Transports A.S. Ducati) and works BMW rider Chaz Davies. Davies' one-off team mate and WSBK debutant Sylvain Barrier ended up 16th despite a technical problem occurred with few minutes left.

World Supersport

Title-winning team Yakhnich Motorsport Yamaha started the final round of the season at Jerez the best possible way by placing its riders in the first two positions at the end of Qualifying 1. 2013 World Supersport Champion Sam Lowes edged team mate Vladimir Leonov in the final stages of the session, to secure first position courtesy of a 1'44.043 lap-time.

Former title holder Kenan Sofuoglu (Mahi Racing Team India Kawasaki), who is looking forward to a last race battle with his arch-rival Lowes, was third ahead of Italians Lorenzo Zanetti (Pata Honda World Supersport), Roberto Rolfo (ParkinGO MV Agusta Corse) and Massimo Roccoli (Team Pata by Martini Yamaha).

Dutch youngster Michael van der Mark (Pata Honda World Supersport), who fell off his Honda CBR600RR in the early minutes at Turn 3, ended up 7th with a 0.9 seconds gap from the top, followed by Roberto Tamburini (Team Lorini Honda) and Brits Danny Webb (PTR Honda) and Kev Coghlan (DMC-Lorenzini Kawasaki), who had crashes during the session.


Stage set for WSBK finale

Previous article

Stage set for WSBK finale

Next article

Carlos Checa announces his retirement from motorcycle racing

Carlos Checa announces his retirement from motorcycle racing
Load comments