Bathurst 12 Hour: Campbell takes stunning pole

Reigning Bathurst 12 Hour winner Matt Campbell put in a stunning Top 10 Shootout lap to secure pole position for the #911 Absolute Porsche.

Bathurst 12 Hour: Campbell takes stunning pole

The Aussie was unstoppable in the single-lap dash, only falling a tenth short of his regular qualifying time with a 2m03.555.

That left him two-tenths clear of the pack, securing a first Allan Simonsen Trophy for Porsche.

"I put everything on the line, I was really pushing hard," said Campbell. I missed a few apexes but overall there was nothing left on the table.

"It's a fantastic result, first time here in the new-generation car. This is one I've wanted for a long time. I've had many attempts at a Shootout and this one I put it all together."

Alvaro Parente was best of the rest, the 59Racing McLaren driver edging #999 GruppeM Mercedes driver Raffaele Marciello by just 0.04s.

The #18 KCMG Nissan will start from fourth after Joao Paulo de Oliveira made up three spots compared to qualifying.

Laurens Vanthoor put the #1 EBM Porsche fifth on the grid, while Maro Engel (#77 Craft-Bamboo Mercedes) went from being up at the second sector on his lap to dropping to sixth.

Kelvin van der Linde was seventh quickest in the #222 Valvoline Audi, recovering from a moment at Hell Corner with a stunning middle sector, with Shane van Gisbergen eighth in the #888 Triple Eight Mercedes.

Marco Mapelli was ninth in the #63 FFF Lamborghini, as Jake Dennis dropped two spots compared to qualifying with the 10th best time aboard the #76 R-Motorsport Aston Martin.

Watch the Bathurst 12 Hour live via

Kirchhoefer explains wild Bathurst rollover

Previous article

Kirchhoefer explains wild Bathurst rollover

Next article

Crashes take toll on Bathurst 12 Hour field

Crashes take toll on Bathurst 12 Hour field
Load comments

About this article

Series Endurance
Event Bathurst 12 Hour
Drivers Matt Campbell
Author Andrew van Leeuwen