23 Jul
Event finished
02 Aug
Event finished
08 Aug
Event finished
22 Aug
Event finished
12 Sep
Event finished
Las Vegas II
27 Sep
Race in
6 days
Talladega II
02 Oct
Next event in
10 days
Charlotte III
09 Oct
Next event in
17 days
Kansas II
18 Oct
Next event in
26 days
Texas II
25 Oct
Next event in
33 days
Martinsville II
30 Oct
Next event in
38 days
Phoenix II
06 Nov
Next event in
45 days

Johnson wins for record tenth time at Dover

Johnson wins for record tenth time at Dover

Only five drivers in the history of NASCAR have won at least ten races at a single track.

Jimmie Johnson, Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
Start: Denny Hamlin, Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota leads
Jimmie Johnson, Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
Matt Kenseth, Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
Jimmie Johnson, Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet

Jimmie Johnson, already the all-time winningest NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver at Dover (Del.) International Speedway, added another victory to his total, claiming his tenth Dover win Sunday. With the victory, he became the fifth driver in NASCAR history to post at least 10 wins at a single track, joining HOFers Richard Petty, Dale Earnhardt, Darrell Waltrip, and David Pearson.

"There's some weird pressure that comes with it," Johnson says of his Dover dominance.

"That's pretty spectacular," said Johnson's crew chief, Chad Knaus. "Could be happier. It was a great race."

Kevin Harvick finished second, Kyle Larson was third, Kasey Kahne was fourth after starting the race 25th, and Aric Almirola fifth after the race went to overtime with a green-white-checker attempt.

"We had a good day," said Kahne. "Started 25th and drove toward the front the entire race."

Denny Hamlin and Martin Truex Jr. dominated for the first half of the race. The race went green for the first 75 laps before debris was spotted on the circuit.

With just under 100 laps to go, control of the race moved over in favor of Kevin Harvick, who spent the closing laps trying to fend off Jimmie Johnson. At lap 375, the caution came out once again when third place Kyle Busch collided with Brian Scott, who he was trying to lap.

Johnson makes his move

Johnson took the lead from Harvick on the ensuing restart. The yellow flag waved a few laps later when Denny Hamlin spun off the nose of Clint Bowyer, taking out Kurt Busch. Kahne pushed Johnson out in front of Harvick on that restart and moved into second, but was unable to run down his teammate.

"His (Harvick's) car didn't look as strong as it did earlier in the day, and we were just able to take advantage of it," Johnson said.

"We were just terrible on restarts. The track bar broke," Harvick said. "The track didn't change much. We were just in a box with our track bar."

The final caution came with just two laps to go when Casey Mears and A.J. Allmendinger spun, resulting in a GWC with Hendrick Motorsports teammates Johnson and Kahne on the front row. Harvick got up to second on the scramble to the finish and Kyle Larson took third. Kahne and Aric Almirola rounded out the top five.

Truex wound up sixth after leading a race-high 131 laps, Jamie McMurray was seventh, Paul Menard eighth, Clint Bowyer ninth, and Jeff Gordon tenth.

Race results

Pos.  No.  Driver   Car / Engine   Laps 
1 48  Jimmie Johnson Chevrolet 405
2 Kevin Harvick Chevrolet 405
3 42  Kyle Larson Chevrolet 405
4 Kasey Kahne Chevrolet 405
5 43  Aric Almirola Ford 405
6 78  Martin Truex Jr. Chevrolet 405
7 Jamie McMurray Chevrolet 405
8 27  Paul Menard Chevrolet 405
9 15  Clint Bowyer Toyota 405
10 24  Jeff Gordon Chevrolet 405
11 22  Joey Logano Ford 405
12 Brad Keselowski Ford 404
13 55  David Ragan Toyota 404
14 88  D.Earnhardt Jr. Chevrolet 403
15 10  Danica Patrick Chevrolet 403
16 14  Tony Stewart Chevrolet 403
17 16  Greg Biffle Ford 403
18 31  Ryan Newman Chevrolet 402
19 19  Carl Edwards Toyota 402
20 Alex Bowman Chevrolet 402
21 11  Denny Hamlin Toyota 402
22 Sam Hornish Jr. Ford 400
23 40  Landon Cassill Chevrolet 400
24 47  A.J.Allmendinger Chevrolet 400
25 38  David Gilliland Ford 399
26 35  Cole Whitt Ford 399
27 13  Casey Mears Chevrolet 399
28 34  Brett Moffitt Ford 398
29 23  J.J. Yeley Toyota 397
30 26  Jeb Burton Toyota 396
31 41  Kurt Busch Chevrolet 396
32 83  Matt DiBenedetto Toyota 395
33 Austin Dillon Chevrolet 395
34 62  Brendan Gaughan Chevrolet 392
35 32  Mike Bliss Ford 391
36 18  Kyle Busch Toyota 374
37 17  R.Stenhouse Jr. Ford 373
38 33  Brian Scott Chevrolet 372
39 20  Matt Kenseth Toyota 346
40 98  Josh Wise Ford 346
41 46  Michael Annett Chevrolet 317
42 51  Justin Allgaier Chevrolet 310
43 Trevor Bayne Ford 221
Dale Jr. takes the blame

Previous article

Dale Jr. takes the blame

Next article

Truex gets heated at his hometown track

Truex gets heated at his hometown track
Load comments